• Chinese tech giant’s digital collectibles pledge involves fighting cryptocurrencies

  • Some of China’s largest tech companies, including JD, Tencent and Alibaba’s Ant Financial Services Group, have signed a “self-regulatory pact” that includes a commitment to “combat” or “eliminate” crypto assets.

    The agreement was signed at a meeting led by the National Copyright Exchange Alliance, a government-led copyright regulator established by a decree of the State Council, the executive arm of China’s central government.

    Ant Financial Services, the financial technology arm of Alibaba, the cloud computing arm of tech and entertainment giant Tencent, and the IT arm of e-commerce giant JD, also known as Jingdong, were present, along with the China Academy of Art, the Hangzhou Internet Notary Office in Zhejiang province, and a unit of state-owned media group CCTV.

    The main focus of the summit was on digital art, audio and video content, but the text of the agreement included several references to cryptocurrencies and blockchain. Both parties pledged to foster a healthy ecosystem for “digital cultural creation” in China.

    They agreed on the need to use blockchain technology to help improve the “authenticity and credibility” of digital works for distribution, purchase and collection, praising its ability to “protect creators’ rights” and combat counterfeiting.

    However, they also agreed to ensure that cryptocurrencies do not enter the field, adding that their efforts should ensure that “speculative and financial risks” are kept away and that there is a cryptocurrency-free policy that ensures “protection against the risk of money laundering.”

    Whether they are acting on their own initiative or as a response to heightened pressure from Beijing, Anthem and Tencent support a form of self-regulation that seeks to keep cryptocurrencies firmly in the shadows.

    Anthem has released a list of “taboos” for digital content – including a pledge to “resolutely resist” all “activities” related to “crypto assets” and to combat “malicious speculation on the price of digital items” – and the company has also essentially pledged not to develop or handle non-fungible tokens (NFTs) in connection with financial products.

    Last month, Tencent’s digital arm made similar noises, pledging to develop its own digital content under a “compliance framework” and to “resolutely resist illegal activities related to [crypto assets].”

    Both companies, like Kyodo, had been pursuing NFT-powered business paths prior to this September’s cryptocurrency crackdown, but have been forced to make some sort of shift to ensure their tokens are published on private blockchains rather than on popular networks like Ether (ETH).

    This apparent creep took a new turn last month when tech giants agreed to start calling their NFT projects “digital collectibles” or “digital collectibles” – another sign that Beijing will not tolerate cryptocurrency-related language in the commercial space.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 中国科技巨头的数字收藏品承诺涉及到打击加密货币

  • 中国一些最大的科技公司,包括JD、腾讯和阿里巴巴旗下的蚂蚁金服集团,已经签署了一份 “自律公约”,其中包括承诺 “打击 “或 “消除 “加密资产。

    该协议是在国家版权交易中心联盟领导的一次会议上签署的,该联盟是由政府主导的版权监管机构,由中国中央政府的执行机构国务院颁布法令成立。

    蚂蚁金服、阿里巴巴的金融科技部门、科技和娱乐巨头腾讯的云计算部门、电子商务巨头JD(也称京东)的IT部门出席了会议,此外还有中国美术学院、浙江省杭州互联网公证处以及国有媒体集团CCTV的一个部门。

    峰会的主要焦点是数字艺术、音频和视频内容,但协议文本中多次提到加密货币和区块链。双方承诺为中国的 “数字文化创作 “培育一个健康的生态系统。

    他们同意有必要使用区块链技术来帮助提高数字作品发行、购买和收藏的 “真实性和可信度”,赞扬其 “保护创作者权益 “和打击假冒伪劣的能力。

    然而,他们也同意确保加密货币不进入该领域,并补充说,他们的努力应确保 “投机和金融风险 “被远离,有一个无加密货币的政策,确保 “防止洗钱风险”。

    无论他们是主动采取行动,还是作为对来自北京的高度压力的回应,蚂蚁金服和腾讯都支持一种自我监管的形式,试图将加密货币牢牢置于阴影之下。

    蚂蚁金服发布了一份数字内容的 “禁忌 “清单–其中包括承诺 “坚决抵制 “所有与 “加密资产 “有关的 “活动”,并打击 “对数字项目价格的恶意炒作”,该公司还基本上承诺不开发或处理与金融产品有关的不可伪造的代币(NFT)。

    上个月,腾讯的数字部门发出了类似的声音,承诺在 “合规框架 “下开发自己的数字内容,并 “坚决抵制与[加密资产]有关的非法活动”。

    这两家公司和京东一样,在今年9月的加密货币打击行动之前,一直在追求以NFT为动力的商业途径,但已被迫做出某种转变,确保其代币在私有区块链上发布,而不是在以太坊(ETH)等流行网络上发布。

    上个月,当科技巨头们同意开始将他们的NFT项目称为 “数字收藏品 “或 “数字收藏品 “时,这种明显的爬升出现了新的变化–这是北京不会容忍商业领域中与加密货币有关的语言的另一个迹象。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0