• Why is FTX’s upcoming marketplace avoiding NFT, which offers royalties?

  • Can JPEG be a security?FTX certainly thinks so.

    Brett Harrison, president of FTX.US, explains that tokens that offer royalties are starting to look like securities.

    As it prepares to launch its Solana-focused NFT marketplace, cryptocurrency exchange FTX has announced it will stay away from projects that offer royalties.

    A newly released FAQ states, “We will reject any NFTs from collections/projects that distribute or advertise the distribution of royalties to NFT holders.”

    Royalties are a relatively new concept when it comes to NFT. With a plethora of projects, many are looking to add value to their token holders and trying to figure out how to do so. One way is to give back to token holders a portion of the fees incurred when NFTs are bought and sold in the marketplace – known as royalties. The idea is that this should incentivize buyers to hold for the long term. But the marketplaces are concerned that this could put JPEGs in violation of U.S. securities laws.

    Brett Harrison, president of FTX.US, said, “We will list NFT projects that pay royalties to artists/creators, but we cannot list projects that distribute royalties from the sale of collections to NFT holders. A token that guarantees you a percentage of the revenue stream from the sale of the asset pool is starting to look like a security.”

    OpenSea, the ethereum-focused NFT marketplace, has similar concerns. Its terms and conditions identify a range of NFT types that may not be suitable for its platform, including those that are redeemable financial instruments and those that “entitle the owner to a financial reward.”

    Last week, these concerns led OpenSea to halt trading in the Turtle DAO NFT pool – which grants tokens to NFT holders – although it did not specify which specific terms the project was violating.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 为什么FTX即将推出的市场要避开提供版税的NFT?

  • JPEG可以成为证券吗?FTX当然这么认为。

    FTX.US总裁Brett Harrison解释说,提供版税的代币开始看起来像证券。

    在准备推出其以Solana为重点的NFT市场时,加密货币交易所FTX宣布它将远离提供版税的项目。

    一个新发布的常见问题指出,”我们将拒绝任何来自向NFT持有人分配或宣传分配版税的集合/项目的NFT”。

    在谈到NFT时,版税是一个相对较新的概念。有了过多的项目,许多人正在寻求为他们的代币持有人增加价值,并尝试如何做到这一点。一种方法是将NFT在市场上买卖时产生的部分费用返还给代币持有人–即所谓的版税。其想法是,这应该激励买家长期持有。但市场平台担心,这可能会使JPEGs违反美国证券法。

    FTX.US总裁布雷特-哈里森说:”我们将列出向艺术家/创作者支付版税的NFT项目,但我们不能列出那些将收藏品销售的版税分配给NFT持有人的项目。一个保证你从资产池的销售中获得一定比例的收入流的代币开始看起来像一个证券。”

    以太坊为重点的NFT市场OpenSea也有类似的担忧。其条款和条件确定了一系列可能不适合其平台的NFT类型,包括那些可以赎回金融工具的NFT和那些 “使所有者有权获得财务奖励 “的NFT。

    上周,这些担忧导致OpenSea停止了Turtle DAO NFT集合的买卖–该集合向NFT持有人授予代币–尽管它没有说明该项目违反了哪个具体条款。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0