• Christie’s to sell some of the earliest NFTs – and only ETH

  • Christie’s will further enter the digital art sales arena by listing a set of 31 Curio Cards and several other notable non-interchangeable token (NFT) items in a live auction on October 1.

    The 254-year-old auction house made history in March when it auctioned off a Beeple NFT for $69 million. Christie’s Asia is now accepting bids for several rare CryptoPunks and Bored Ape NFTs, as buyer appetite for NFTs has been approaching feverish levels recently.

    Launched in May 2017, Curio Cards is often regarded as the first digital art collection on the Ether blockchain, predating both CryptoPunks and CryptoKitties. The set of cards depicts images ranging from mundane objects (#1 Apple) to re-imagined corporate logos (#15 DigitalCash) to complex black and white geometric shapes (#26 Education).

    “As far as art projects on Ether, the true full set of Curio Cards is one of the few Holy Grails,” said Noah Davis, Head of Digital Art at Christie’s.” This is the first project of its kind, predating even Punks.”

    The set of 31 numbered cards – including the misprinted number 17b – is estimated to fetch between 250 and 350 ETH, or between $870,000 and $1.3 million based on current Ether prices.

    The rarest card in the lot is card number 26.

    “There are only 111 of them in total. Five have been lost,” Curio Cards co-founder Travis Uhrig told us. That puts the number of viable full sets at 106 – one of which will be up for grabs at Christie’s.

    As for the misprinted cards, Uhrig chalked it up to a technical error.

    “Cards 17, 18 and 19 were all initially misprinted, but there was a mistake that made cards 18 and 19 unsellable,” Uhrig explained.” Back in 2017, no one cared that you had test code on Ether. We just redeployed all three after we fixed [the bug]. People eventually found [card #17b] because it lived on the blockchain. The market has definitely spoken, and people think it’s essential to the full suite of products.”

    The October 1 sale also marks the first time that Christie’s live bidding will be denominated in cryptocurrency rather than the usual local currency. Bidding must be in ETH, signaling a new milestone as Christie’s goes down the rabbit hole of cryptocurrency.

    “I’ve been bidding at auctions on behalf of clients for nearly a decade,” said Davis, Christie’s head of digital art.” I’ve bid in dollars, pounds and euros – always in fiat currency. It’s incredible to think I’ll hear an auctioneer call out my bid in ETH. It’s impossible.”

    In addition to the set of vintage cards, the auction will feature a second lot, three complete sets of 31 NFTs from the curated series of Art Blocks, a blockchain startup that helps artists create algorithmically generated art, hand-picked versions of this popular series.

    The Art Blocks Curated pieces currently have a reserve price of 1.7 ETH, or about $5,900, on OpenSea, the NFT marketplace.

    “Art Blocks and the artists involved are very humbled to receive this level of recognition,” Erick Calderon, Art Blocks’ co-founder and CEO, told us.

    The first NFT works will be part of Christie’s broader “POST-WAR TO PRESENT” live auction in New York, which will also feature more traditional artists and works.

    Davis confirmed to us that as part of the same auction, Christie’s will also list five original graffiti from entrepreneur Gary Vaynerchuk’s VeeFriends NFT series.

    Just five days later, Christie’s will auction its first NFT photos as part of its PHOTOGRAPHS series on October 6. The sale will include NFT Twin Flames No. 83, which will accompany all 100 physical photographs from the series.

    “This could be a bridge between traditional art collectors and new crypto art collectors,” said Justin Aversano, the photographer behind the Twin Flames project, which is estimated to fetch between $100,000 and $150,000 at auction.

    The international auction house appears to be sprinkling NFT into its traditional live auctions as part of a cross-pollination marketing strategy. Christie’s auction will mix digital and real-life art, which will introduce traditional art collectors to NFTs and attract cryptocurrency-native collectors who were not previously clients of the auction house.

    “It’s amazing to see so many incredible artists succeeding in the NFT space; it’s always been a dream of ours,” said Urig, co-founder of Curio Cards.

    “In 2017, Curio Cards focused on explaining what NFTs are and why they’re valuable. Now it’s become this well-known ecosystem of artists showing at major auction houses like Christie’s.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 佳士得将出售一些最早期的NFT–而且只卖ETH

  • 佳士得拍卖行将在10月1日的现场拍卖中列出一套31张Curio Cards和其他几个著名的非可替换代币(NFT)项目,进一步进军数字艺术销售领域。

    这家拥有254年历史的拍卖行在3月以6900万美元的价格拍卖了一个Beeple NFT,创造了历史。佳士得亚洲分部现在正在接受几个罕见的CryptoPunks和Bored Ape NFT的竞标,因为最近买家对NFT的胃口接近狂热水平。

    Curio Cards于2017年5月推出,通常被视为以太坊区块链上的第一个数字艺术收藏品,比CryptoPunks和CryptoKitties都早。这套卡描绘的图像从平凡的物体(#1苹果)到重新想象的企业标志(#15 DigitalCash)到复杂的黑白几何图形(#26教育)。

    “就以太坊上的艺术项目而言,真正的全套Curio Cards是为数不多的圣杯之一,”佳士得数字艺术主管Noah Davis说。”这是第一个此类项目,甚至比Punks还要早。”

    这套31张编号的卡片–包括印错的17b号–估计能拍出250到350个ETH,根据目前的以太坊价格,也就是87万到130万美元之间。

    这批卡片中最稀有的是26号卡片。

    “一共只有111张。五张已经丢失了,”Curio Cards联合创始人Travis Uhrig告诉我们。这使得可行的全套数量为106套–其中一套将在佳士得拍卖会上被抢购。

    至于印错的卡片,Uhrig将其归结为一个技术错误。

    “17、18和19号牌最初都印错了,但有一个错误使得18和19号牌无法出售,”Uhrig解释说。”早在2017年,没有人关心你在以太坊上有测试代码。我们只是在修复了[错误]后重新部署了这三张。人们最终找到了[17b号卡],因为它活在区块链上。市场肯定已经说话了,人们认为它是全套产品中必不可少的。”

    10月1日的拍卖也标志着佳士得的现场竞价将首次以加密货币而不是通常的本地货币计价。竞价必须以ETH为单位,随着佳士得进入加密货币的兔子洞,这意味着一个新的里程碑。

    “我代表客户在拍卖会上出价已近十年,”佳士得的数字艺术负责人戴维斯说。”我曾用美元、英镑和欧元出价–总是法币。想到我会听到拍卖师用ETH喊出我的出价,这真是不可思议。这是不可能的。”

    除了这套古玩卡之外,拍卖会还将推出第二件拍品,即来自Art Blocks策展系列的三套完整的31个NFT。Art Blocks是一家帮助艺术家创造算法生成的艺术的区块链初创公司,为这个受欢迎的系列手工挑选版本。

    在NFT市场OpenSea上,Art Blocks Curated作品目前的底价是1.7ETH,或约5900美元。

    “Art Blocks的联合创始人兼首席执行官Erick Calderon告诉我们:”Art Blocks和相关的艺术家们都非常谦卑地接受这种程度的认可。

    第一批NFT作品将是佳士得在纽约举行的更广泛的 “POST-WAR TO PRESENT “现场拍卖会的一部分,该拍卖会还将展示更多传统艺术家和作品。

    戴维斯向我们证实,作为同一拍卖会的一部分,佳士得还将列出企业家Gary Vaynerchuk的VeeFriends NFT系列的五幅原创涂鸦。

    仅仅五天之后,佳士得将于10月6日拍卖其第一张NFT照片,作为其 “PHOTOGRAPHS “系列的一部分。这次拍卖将包括NFT双子火焰第83号,它将伴随着该系列的全部100张实物照片。

    “这可以成为传统艺术收藏家和新的加密艺术收藏家之间的桥梁,”双子火焰项目背后的摄影师Justin Aversano说,该项目在拍卖会上的价格估计在10万至15万美元之间。

    这家国际拍卖行似乎在其传统的现场拍卖中洒下了NFT,作为交叉传播营销策略的一部分。佳士得的拍卖会将混合数字和现实生活中的艺术,这将把传统的艺术收藏家引入NFTs,并吸引以前不是该拍卖行客户的加密货币原生收藏家。

    “看到这么多令人难以置信的艺术家在NFT领域取得成功,真是令人惊讶;这一直是我们的梦想,”Curio Cards联合创始人乌里格说。

    “在2017年,Curio Cards专注于解释什么是NFT以及为什么它们有价值。现在它已经成为这个知名的生态系统,艺术家们在佳士得等大型拍卖行展示。”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0