• Why is Lightspeed Venture Partners so bullish on NFTs in the gaming space?

  • Over the course of a few months this summer, ethereum-based Axie Infinity transformed from a relatively small cryptocurrency game to the largest project in the booming NFT space, with over $2.2 billion in transactions to date. Players are spending hundreds, if not thousands, of dollars on digital Axie monsters, plots, and more.

    According to Amy Wu, a partner at Lightspeed Venture Partners, video game industry heavyweights are now paying attention.

    “Every major game publisher is exploring blockchain,” Wu said in an August viral tweet. Axie has “lit a fire around blockchain in gaming,” she added, and traditional game publishers are actively seeking partners to help them navigate the challenges of entering the space.

    Lightspeed manages more than $10 billion worth of assets invested in companies across the cryptocurrency and gaming space. This includes stakes in traditional video game makers such as Fortnite publisher Epic Games and Splitgate developer 1047 Games.

    Thousands of games are released every year on PCs, consoles and mobile devices, but only a handful of them actually break out and reach the masses. Wu believes that cryptocurrency elements can help games stand out from the competition and really resonate with players.

    “Blockchain is a way to cut through the noise,” Wu told us at last week’s Messari Mainnet conference.

    Building a game with cryptocurrency elements and user-owned NFT items is a departure from traditional approaches to game design, and “it’s still novel,” Wu added. For some players, the speculative aspect is key – the value of the NFT game assets they own has the potential to increase. For other players, there is an inherent value in actually owning items in a game they enjoy and play regularly.

    Community and compliance

    Wu also sees NFT as an important part of stimulating the game’s fan base, which can take years to develop and expand – especially for smaller indie projects.” She explains, “One of the use cases for NFT is the ability to engage the community prior to launch.

    Axie Infinity has done this as the game has gradually expanded since development began in 2017, with many planned upgrades ahead. Upcoming games like The Sandbox and Star Atlas have similarly built communities through NFT sales before playable games launch, engaging early fans in the prospect of ownership and becoming early “founders.” On Thursday, Axie airdropped $60 million worth of AXS tokens to early players.

    Axie Infinity has sold $2 billion worth of Ether NFTs. here’s what’s next

    On top of that, Wu said, blockchain games can enhance publishers’ revenues compared to traditional games, thanks to a user-owned economy that constantly offers a share of sales.

    “If you have in-game items that are traded as NFT items, either within or outside of that game publisher’s closed ecosystem, you can really deepen the game economy significantly,” she told us.” You have more liquidity, and that’s actually a great way for players to spend as much money as they want in the game, which was previously restricted.”

    Wu expects there will be hundreds of cryptocurrency-fueled games in the next few years, but he said major publishers exploring the space are still trying to figure out the possibility of regulatory hurdles.

    Video games typically launch internationally, which means there are a significant number of national regulations to contend with. The broader cryptocurrency industry still needs regulatory guidance, particularly regarding whether certain types of tokens are considered securities. This could amplify the challenges faced by large game publishers considering cryptocurrency-powered creations.

    “When you’re a large game publisher, you have players in maybe 150 jurisdictions around the world,” Wu explained.” If you’re going to be on and off cryptocurrencies and allow trading in them, you need to consider compliance issues.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 光速创投为何如此看好游戏领域的NFTs?

  • 在今年夏天的几个月里,基于以太坊的Axie Infinity从一个相对较小的加密货币游戏转变为蓬勃发展的NFT领域中最大的项目,迄今为止的交易量超过22亿美元。玩家们正在花费数百甚至数千美元购买数字Axie怪物、地块等。

    据光速创投的合伙人Amy Wu说,视频游戏行业的重量级人物现在都在关注。

    “每一个主要的游戏出版商都在探索区块链,”吴在8月的一个病毒式推特上说。她补充说,Axie已经 “围绕区块链在游戏中的应用点燃了一把火”,传统游戏发行商正在积极寻求合作伙伴,以帮助他们应对进入该领域的挑战。

    光速公司管理着价值超过100亿美元的资产,投资于整个加密货币和游戏领域的公司。这包括传统视频游戏制造商的股份,如《堡垒之夜》发行商Epic Games和Splitgate开发商1047 Games。

    每年有数以千计的游戏在个人电脑、游戏机和移动设备上发布,但只有少数游戏真正突围并达到了大众的需求。吴认为,加密货币元素可以帮助游戏在竞争中脱颖而出,真正引起玩家的共鸣。

    “区块链是一种穿透噪音的方式,”吴在上周的Messari Mainnet会议上告诉我们。

    建立一个具有加密货币元素和用户拥有的NFT项目的游戏,与传统的游戏设计方法不同,”它仍然是新颖的,”吴补充说。对于一些玩家来说,投机方面是关键–他们拥有的NFT游戏资产的价值有可能增加。对其他玩家来说,在他们喜欢并经常玩的游戏中真正拥有物品是有内在价值的。

    社区和遵守

    吴还认为NFT是刺激游戏粉丝群的重要组成部分,这可能需要多年的时间来发展和扩大–特别是对于较小的独立项目。”她解释说:”NFT的用例之一是能够在推出前让社区参与进来。

    Axie Infinity做到了这一点,因为自2017年开始开发以来,游戏已经逐渐扩大,未来还有很多计划的升级。像The Sandbox和Star Atlas这样即将推出的游戏也同样在可玩的游戏推出之前就通过NFT销售建立了社区,让早期的粉丝参与到所有权的前景中,成为早期的 “创始人”。周四,Axie向早期玩家空投了价值6000万美元的AXS代币。

    Axie Infinity已售出价值20亿美元的以太坊NFT。以下是接下来的内容

    吴说,除此之外,与传统游戏相比,区块链游戏可以增强发行商的收入,这要归功于不断提供销售分成的用户自有经济。

    “如果你有作为NFT物品交易的游戏内物品,无论是在该游戏发行商的封闭生态系统中还是在其之外,你都可以真正地大幅深化游戏经济,”她告诉我们。”你有更多的流动性,这实际上是一个很好的方式,让玩家在游戏中花多少钱都可以,这在以前是受限制的。”

    吴预计,未来几年将有数百个以加密货币为燃料的游戏,但他说,探索这一领域的主要出版商仍在努力弄清监管障碍的可能性。

    视频游戏通常在国际上推出,这意味着有相当数量的国家的法规需要应对。更广泛的加密货币行业仍然需要监管指导,特别是关于某些类型的代币是否被视为证券。这可能会扩大大型游戏发行商考虑以加密货币为动力的创作所面临的挑战。

    “当你是一个大型的游戏发行商时,你在全世界可能有150个司法管辖区的玩家,”吴解释说。”如果你要在加密货币上和下,并允许在其中进行交易,你需要考虑合规问题。”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0