• Will an NFT “digital collection” with Chinese characteristics be successful?

  • Recently, NFT platforms led by Tencent and Alibaba have removed the word NFT and changed their names to “digital collection” after receiving communication from the relevant regulators.

    On October 31, the NFT Alliance joined hands with the China Academy of Fine Arts, Hangzhou Internet Notary Office of Zhejiang Province, CCTV Animation Group, Hunan Provincial Museum, Ant Financial Services Group, Jingdong Technology, Ali Auction and Tencent Cloud to release the “Self-Regulatory Convention for Digital Culture and Creative Industries”. A set of NFT model with Chinese characteristics began to take shape. It includes 11 consensus items, namely: empowering the real economy, promoting national culture, promoting industrial development, insisting on originality, maintaining value support, protecting consumer rights and interests, controlling alliance chain technology, safeguarding network information security, eliminating virtual currency, preventing speculation and financialization risks, and preventing money laundering risks.

    It is fortunate for the domestic industry that NFT is not subject to comprehensive regulation. But will this NFT with Chinese characteristics succeed? We don’t know, but at the very least, it has a completely different logic than the current NFTs in the Western world.

    First, the logic that drives it

    The core reason for this year’s NFT trend remains the logic of the cryptocurrency industry, building a marketplace platform for constant trading, building a community of NFTs and traders, all backed by fast profits. Profitable trading remains the core reason for NFT’s popularity, with OpenSea’s total trading volume already exceeding $10 billion and a steady daily trading volume of around $50 million. Most participants are in it for the profits, not for the collection.

    Chinese style “digital collecting” requires “resisting any form of malicious speculation on the price of digital art” and it is not yet known if trading will be open and auction houses are barely involved, so it is a different nature of driving attribution.

    Second, the logic of certainty

    The second reason for the mainstream acceptance of NFT is that the decentralized public chain makes the collection of digital art possible due to its legitimacy and liquidity. It is because digital collectibles are susceptible to copying and infringement that the blockchain has become more valuable. To ensure ownership of NFTs, the vast majority of NFTs have chosen the decentralized ethereum public chain over other more centralized public chains. Domestic digital collectibles based on affiliate chains such as those owned by Tencent and Ali only have the form of a blockchain and therefore have no realistic claim to ownership, losing their significance as collectibles.

    Third, the logic of participation in creation

    In the traditional NFT network, anyone can create and upload on OpenSea, and any user with a cryptocurrency wallet can directly participate in buying and trading. However, for Chinese institutions, it is not possible to create and participate and trade in a completely free and open manner and must be approved, making them difficult to be accepted by the international NFT community and ecosystem.

    Fourth, native IP

    NFT’s success is serendipitous. The formation of native NFT head IPs led by CRYPTOPUNKS and bored ape yacht club has led to the formation of a large number of native waist IPs, as well as many innovative projects such as Art Blocks and NFT DAO.In contrast, digital collectibles with Chinese characteristics currently have no independent native NFT IPs or images, and are more They are more often used as accessories for celebrities, games or even corporate advertising with a strong marketing overtone.

    In general, digital collectibles with Chinese characteristics are very different from traditional Western NFTs in terms of underlying logic and overall ecology. We can’t tell if it will be successful in the future, but it will certainly be a completely different route. In contrast, Chinese game studios, which already have a lot of experience going overseas and are generally very good, are more likely to stand out from the competition in the overseas industry chain.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 具有中国特色的NFT “数字收藏 “会成功吗?

  • 近日,以腾讯、阿里巴巴为首的NFT平台在接到相关监管部门的沟通后,纷纷去掉NFT字样,改名为 “数字收藏”。

    10月31日,国家版权交易中心联盟联合中国美术学院、浙江省杭州市互联网公证处、央视动画集团、湖南省博物馆、蚂蚁金服集团、京东科技、阿里拍卖、腾讯云发布《数字文化创意产业自律公约》。一套具有中国特色的NFT模式开始形成。它包括11项共识,即:赋能实体经济、弘扬民族文化、促进产业发展、坚持原创、维护价值支撑、保护消费者权益、控制联盟链技术、保障网络信息安全、杜绝虚拟货币、防范投机和金融化风险、防范洗钱风险。

    对于国内行业来说,NFT不受全面监管是幸运的。但这种具有中国特色的NFT会成功吗?我们不知道,但至少,它与西方世界目前的NFT的逻辑完全不同。

    首先,驱动它的逻辑

    今年NFT趋势的核心原因仍然是加密货币行业的逻辑,建立一个不断交易的市场平台,建立一个NFT和交易者的社区,所有的支持都是快速的利润。有利可图的交易仍然是NFT流行的核心原因,OpenSea的总交易量已经超过100亿美元,每日交易量稳定在5000万美元左右。大多数参与者都是为了利润,而不是为了收藏。

    中国式的 “数字收藏 “要求 “抵制任何形式的对数字艺术品价格的恶意炒作”,目前还不知道是否会开放交易,拍卖行也几乎不参与,所以这是一种不同性质的推动归属。

    第二,确定性的逻辑

    NFT被主流接受的第二个原因是,去中心化的公共链由于其合法性和流动性,使得数字艺术品的收藏成为可能。正是因为数字收藏品容易被复制和侵权,区块链才变得更有价值。为了确保NFT的所有权,绝大部分NFT都选择了去中心化的以太坊公链,而不是其他更中心化的公链。国内基于腾讯和阿里等旗下联盟链的数字收藏品只具有区块链的形式,因此没有现实的所有权要求,失去了其作为收藏品的意义。

    第三,参与创作的逻辑

    在传统的NFT网络中,任何人都可以在OpenSea上创建和上传,任何拥有加密货币钱包的用户都可以直接参与购买和交易。然而,对于中国的机构来说,不可能以完全自由和开放的方式进行创造和参与和交易,必须经过批准,这使得他们很难被国际NFT社区和生态系统所接受。

    第四,原生知识产权

    NFT的成功是偶然的。以CRYPTOPUNKS和bored ape yacht club 为首的原生NFT头部IP的形成,带动了大量的原生腰部IP的形成,以及许多创新项目,如Art Blocks和NFT DAO。相比之下,具有中国特色的数字收藏品目前还没有独立的原生NFT IP和形象,更多的是 他们更多的是作为明星、游戏甚至企业广告的配件,带有浓厚的营销色彩。

    总的来说,中国特色的数字收藏品在底层逻辑和整体生态上与西方传统NFT有很大不同。我们无法判断它在未来是否会成功,但它肯定将会是一条完全不同的路线。相比之下,中国的游戏工作室,已经有很多出海的经验,而且普遍很优秀,更有可能在海外的产业链竞争中脱颖而出。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0