• Pawn Your CryptoPunk: A New NFT DeFi Lending Marketplace Blossoms

  • It’s like an NFT pawn shop.

    A startup blockchain project called NFTfi allows users to borrow against their uncounterfeitable tokens, and this new project sits at the intersection of decentralized finance (DeFi) and the red-hot NFT market.

    NFTfi allows users to pledge their NFTs in exchange for other cryptocurrencies, which can then be sold for cash. The service provides instant liquidity for NFT holders who are not ready to give up their CryptoPunks or Bored Apes.

    The new service hints at the growing demand for DeFi apps as NFTs gain more user adoption.

    “NFTs are certainly becoming a gateway to the DeFi space for mainstream audiences,” said Lauren Stephanian, a principal at Pantera Capital.” As new collectors become more active in the NFT market, they will be looking for new ways to leverage their assets through the DeFi mechanism, such as mortgages, fractional assets, mortgages, etc.”

    Mortgages for NFTs join a growing roster of services and derivatives that have been launched by various startups to meet the needs of traders. Other NFT derivatives projects include fractionalization platform Fractional, betting provider NFTx, and cross-chain liquidity protocol Taker.

    Once bought, NFT is often difficult to use productively, unlike fungible tokens, which are more liquid and can be easily pinned, loaned, or otherwise put to work to generate revenue.

    “If you have a CryptoPunk and you need the cash but don’t want to sell it, you can use it as collateral,” NFTfi co-founder Stephen Young told us.

    The loan can then be used in a variety of ways: converted to fiat currency, deployed to the DeFi protocol, or even used to buy more NFTs.

    Determining the value of collateral

    The platform runs on the Ethernet network and allows anyone to make loans and set terms without an intermediary, similar to the DeFi protocols Compound and Aave – but with NFTs.

    “The possibilities are endless when it comes to merging technologies,” said Daniela Henao, chief operating officer of cryptocurrency analytics firm Defy Trends.

    Borrowers can expect to receive a loan amount of about 50% of the value of the NFT, with annualized interest rates typically ranging from 20% to 80%, depending on the desirability of the NFT. Lenders determine what they consider to be the fair value of the collateral, usually by looking at recent sales history or the reserve price of similar assets. The reserve price is the lowest offer that can be made to purchase a particular series of NFTs.

    Once the parties agree on terms, the NFT is transferred from the borrower’s wallet to an escrow account and a smart contract facilitates the loan. If the borrower fails to return the loan and interest at the end of the term, the lender is entitled to get the underlying NFT back.

    The company has closed more than $12 million in transaction volume since its launch in June 2020. The average loan size for the month was $26,000, but the platform has facilitated loans of up to $200,000, Stephen Young said. The default rate hovers below 20 percent, which varies depending on the NFT.

    Currently, loans can be made in Ether, a token native to the Ether blockchain, or DAI, a stable coin pegged to the U.S. dollar.

    “There are several different types of people who use our service,” Young said.” Some are people who really liked NFT last year and bought it for very little money. one of our users lost his job during covid and took out a loan to cover the costs.”

    Get pocket money, or double it

    Stephen Young said other users of the service include college students using NFTs as pocket money, DeFi traders looking for liquidity to pay margin calls, and yield farmers using their NFTs to take advantage of DeFi agreements for higher rates.

    CryptoPunks can typically earn lenders an 18% APR, while Bored Ape can earn 40% to 60% APR. Some loans have APRs as high as 100 or 150 percent.

    However, some lenders may not be in it for the proceeds.

    “A lot of lenders actually want the NFT, so they’re hoping the borrower will default,” Stephen Young explains.” Then they’re essentially getting the NFT at a 50 percent discount.”

    In February, the company raised $890,000 in investment from venture capital firm CoinFund, a decentralized autonomous organization called The LAO, and private investors like Dapper Labs CIO Roham Gharegozlou.

    “In the future we are moving towards, meaningful interactions with NFTs will include not only gaming or visual elements, but also financial components, including those enabled by NFTfi’s ever-expanding suite of products,” Evan Feng, director of research at CoinFund, told us.

    Others see NFTs as a way for retail investors to become more engaged with DeFi.

    “DeFi has historically had a high barrier to entry due to user experience gaps, but NFTs now offer a user-friendly entry point to popular DeFi use cases,” said Pantera’s Stephanian.

    Of course, the project also highlights how the nascent but rapidly growing NFT derivatives space is introducing leverage and more risk into an already volatile market – similar to the excessive lending practices that historically fueled asset price bubbles in traditional markets.

    ” Stephen Young says, “I see NFTs as Internet-native property rights.” You’re going to see the accumulation of value in Internet property, and where there’s value, there’s finance.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 典当你的CryptoPunk:一个新的NFT DeFi借贷市场的绽放

  • 这就像一个NFT的典当行。

    一个名为NFTfi的初创区块链项目允许用户用他们的不可伪造的代币进行借贷,这个新项目位于去中心化金融(DeFi)和红火的NFT市场的交汇点。

    NFTfi允许用户抵押他们的NFT,以换取其他加密货币,然后可以出售换取现金。这项服务为那些还没有准备好放弃他们的CryptoPunks或Bored Apes的NFT持有人提供了即时的流动性。

    新的服务暗示了随着NFTs获得更多的用户采用,对DeFi应用的需求越来越大。

    “Pantera Capital的负责人Lauren Stephanian说:”NFTs无疑正在成为主流受众进入DeFi空间的一个通道。”随着新的收藏家在NFT市场上越来越活跃,他们将寻求新的方式,通过DeFi机制来利用他们的资产,如抵押贷款、部分资产、抵押等等。”

    针对NFT的抵押贷款加入了越来越多的服务和衍生产品名册,各种初创公司已经推出了这些服务和衍生产品,以满足交易者的需求。其他NFT衍生品项目包括分数化平台Fractional、赌注供应商NFTx和跨链流动性协议Taker。

    一旦买入,NFT通常很难以生产性方式使用,不像可替换的代币,后者流动性更强,可以很容易地被钉住,借出,或以其他方式投入工作以产生收益。

    “如果你有一个CryptoPunk,你需要现金,但不想卖掉它,你可以用它作为抵押品,”NFTfi联合创始人Stephen Young告诉我们。

    然后,贷款可以以各种方式使用:转换为法币,部署到DeFi协议,甚至用来购买更多的NFT。

    确定抵押品的价值

    该平台在以太坊网络上运行,允许任何人在没有中间人的情况下进行贷款和设定条款,类似于DeFi协议Compound和Aave–但有NFTs。

    “加密货币分析公司Defy Trends的首席运营官Daniela Henao说:”在合并技术时,可能性是无穷的。

    借款人可望获得约为NFT价值50%的贷款金额,年化利率通常在20%至80%之间,取决于NFT的可取性。贷款人确定他们认为抵押品的公平价值,通常是通过查看最近的销售历史或类似资产的底价。底价是指可以购买某一特定系列的国家信托基金的最低报价。

    一旦双方就条款达成一致,NFT就会从借款人的钱包转移到一个托管账户,并由智能合约促成贷款。如果借款人在期限结束时未能归还贷款和利息,贷款人有权拿回基础NFT。

    该公司自2020年6月推出以来,已经完成了1200多万美元的交易量。 Stephen Young 说,当月的平均贷款规模为26,000美元,但该平台已经促成了高达20万美元的贷款。违约率徘徊在20%以下,根据NFT的不同而不同。

    目前,贷款可以用以太坊,即以太坊区块链的原生代币,或DAI,一种与美元挂钩的稳定币。

    “有几种不同类型的人使用我们的服务,”杨说。”有些是去年真正喜欢NFT的人,用很少的钱买了NFT。我们的一个用户在covid期间失去了工作,并贷款来支付费用。”

    获得零花钱,或双倍的钱

    Stephen Young 说,该服务的其他用户包括大学生把NFT作为零花钱,DeFi交易者寻找流动性以支付保证金通知,以及产量农民利用他们的NFT,利用DeFi协议获得更高的利率。

    CryptoPunks通常可以为贷款人获得18%的年利率,而Bored Ape可以获得40%到60%的年利率。一些贷款的年化利率高达100%或150%。

    然而,一些贷款人可能不是为了收益。

    “很多贷款人实际上想要NFT,所以他们希望借款人会违约,” Stephen Young 解释说。”那么他们基本上是以50%的折扣获得NFT的。”

    今年2月,该公司从风险投资公司CoinFund、一个名为The LAO的去中心化自治组织以及Dapper Labs首席信息官Roham Gharegozlou等私人投资者那里筹集了89万美元的投资。

    “CoinFund的研究总监Evan Feng告诉我们,”在我们正在走向的未来,与NFTs的有意义的互动不仅包括游戏或视觉元素,也包括金融成分,包括那些由NFTfi不断扩大的产品套件实现的元素。

    其他人认为NFTs是零售投资者更多参与DeFi的一种方式。

    “由于用户体验的差距,DeFi在历史上有很高的准入门槛,但NFTs现在为流行的DeFi用例提供了一个用户友好的切入点,”Pantera的Stephanian说。

    当然,该项目还强调了新生但迅速增长的NFT衍生品领域如何将杠杆和更多风险引入已经动荡的市场–类似于历史上助长传统市场中资产价格泡沫的过度借贷行为。

    ” Stephen Young 说:”我把NFTs看作是互联网原生的产权。”你将会看到互联网财产的价值累积,有价值的地方就有金融。”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0