• Taiwan’s telecom trio enters metaverse to spark 5G

  • Facebook, Nvidia, Google, Microsoft and Visa are fully committed to the metaverse, driving a global metaverse industry investment boom. Taiwan’s three telecom giants plan to drive the growth of 5G subscribers through metaverse layouts.

    HTC’s first lightweight VR glasses, VIVE Flow, is already available at Chunghwa Telecom. Chunghwa Telecom’s Chunghwa Systems Integration Corp. represents the Zochen smart glasses and is preparing to develop innovative applications for enterprises. Chunghwa Telecom has also recently teamed up with start-up company Uniigym to develop the “AR Move x Uniigym” smart sports app, paving the way for innovative applications for the meta-universe.

    GPU display chip giant Nvidia is actively involved in the metaverse, becoming a key driver of this global metaverse boom. Taiwan Mobile’s 2020 Ge Force NOW Alliance Taiwn Mobile cloud-based gaming platform with NVIDIA. Taiwan Mobile’s president Lin Chih-Chen recently said that the company’s entry into the cloud gaming space is a preparation for the meta-universe and is optimistic that new startups will shine in the meta-universe in the future.

    AppWorks, founded by Lin Chih-Chen, has been actively investing in the metaverse for the past two years, including an investment in Dapper Labs, the team that released the “NBA Top Shot” crypto virtual collectible, and most recently, Sandbox, NFT’s metaverse game that has reached a record high of $100 million. appWorks participated in a mid-year Animoca Brands’ new funding round. Taiwan University has taken a stake in AppWorks, which will help it drive innovative applications of the metaverse in the future.

    Far EasTone Telecom recently teamed up with the Asian East University of Science and Technology to create a 6-story virtual smart building. By combining 5G with AI, VR/MR and gesture recognition technologies, users can put on VR glasses and step into the virtual smart building to freely travel through different floors and enjoy various immersive experiences.

    Market analysts believe that all three telcos have recently been actively supporting meta-universe-related startups in preparation for the accelerated development of metadata services.

    Lin Zhi Chen: Metaverse industry chain will take 3-5 years to mature

    Metaverse is considered one of the killer applications in the 5G era or even the 6G era. Because both individuals and enterprises emphasize realistic, real-time and stable virtual interactions, they need to rely on the telecom infrastructure network with large bandwidth and high-speed transmission to provide new immersive and interactive services. Global telecom companies are actively investing in metaverse, which will catalyze the accelerated development of the metaverse industry chain.

    China Mobile and China Unicom are the first major members of the approved Mobile Communications Association Metaverse Industry Committee, which was established last week. China is actively deploying the metaverse ahead of schedule.

    In Taiwan, thanks to a complete upstream, midstream and downstream industry chain, the three telecom giants are not far behind in developing innovative metaverse applications.

    Taiwan Mobile’s President Lin Chih-Chen believes that meta-universe will be a killer application. In the next decade or two, mobile users will be educating, entertaining, socializing and even working in the metaverse. Unlike the rapid development of connected services driven by smartphones in the 4G era, future metaverse devices will replace mobile phones, which will be the next real highlight of 5G, but this new industry trend will not flourish until 2024 at the earliest.

    International telecoms equipment vendors even believe that the current 5G environment is not sufficient for the metaverse and it will be very interesting to see if global telcos are forced to invest in 6G earlier.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 台湾电信三雄进军元宇宙引爆5G

  • Facebook、英伟达、谷歌、微软和Visa全力投入元宇宙,带动了全球元宇宙产业投资热潮。台湾三大电信巨头计划通过元宇宙布局带动5G用户的增长。

    宏达的首款轻量级VR眼镜VIVE Flow已在中华电信售卖。中华电信旗下的中华系统整合公司代理佐臻智慧眼镜,并准备为企业开发创新应用。中华电信最近还与新创公司优力劲联手,共同开发 “AR 动滋动 x Uniigym”智慧运动APP应用,为元宇宙的创新应用做铺垫。

    GPU显示芯片巨头英伟达积极投身元宇宙,成为这波全球元宇宙热潮的重要推动者。台湾大哥大2020年与英伟达共同打造Ge Force NOW联盟Taiwn Mobile云端游戏平台。台湾大哥大总裁林之晨日前表示,公司进入云游戏领域是为元宇宙做准备,并看好未来新的创业公司在元宇宙中大放异彩。

    由林之晨创立的AppWorks公司在过去两年中一直积极投资元宇宙,包括投资Dapper Labs,该团队发布了 “NBA Top Shot “加密虚拟收藏品,最近,NFT的元宇宙游戏Sandbox已经达到了1亿美元的最高记录。AppWorks在今年年中参与了Animoca Brands的新一轮筹资。台湾大学已经入股AppWorks,这将有助于台湾大学在未来推动元宇宙的创新应用。

    远传电信最近与亚东科技大学联手打造了一座6层的虚拟智慧大厦。通过将5G与人工智能、VR/MR和手势识别技术相结合,用户可以戴上VR眼镜,走进虚拟智慧大厦,自由穿梭于不同楼层,享受各种沉浸式体验。

    市场分析人士认为,这三家电信公司最近都在积极支持元宇宙相关的初创企业,为元数据服务的加速发展做准备。

    林之晨:元宇宙产业链需要3-5年时间才能成熟

    元宇宙被认为是5G时代甚至是6G时代的杀手级应用之一。因为无论是个人还是企业,都强调逼真、实时、稳定的虚拟互动,需要依托大带宽、高速传输的电信基础网络,提供全新的沉浸式互动服务。全球电信企业都在积极投资元宇宙,这将催化元宇宙产业链的加速发展。

    中国移动和中国联通是首个获批的移动通信协会元宇宙产业委员会的主要成员,该委员会已于上周成立。中国正积极提前部署元宇宙。

    在台湾,得益于完整的上、中、下游产业链,三大电信巨头在开发创新的元宇宙应用方面并不落后。

    台湾大哥大总裁林之晨认为,元宇宙将是一个杀手级的应用。在未来十年或二十年内,移动用户的教育、娱乐、社交甚至工作都将在元宇宙中进行。与4G时代智能手机带动互联服务的快速发展不同,未来的元宇宙设备将取代手机,这将是5G的下一个真正的亮点,但这个新的行业趋势最早要到2024年才会蓬勃发展。

    国际电信设备商甚至认为,目前的5G环境不足以满足元宇宙的需求,全球电信公司是否被迫提前投资6G,将是非常值得关注的。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0