• Entomologists look to NFT for classification of specimens

  • Insect taxonomists around the world, or bug classifiers to the layman, face a common problem. That is, how to obtain a holotype, the single most important specimen for a species to be named and described. The answer to this dilemma, however, may lie in the humble NFT.

    The master specimen of any given insect is generally in dusty cabinets in museums around the world. This severely hinders the classification of any new organism. Often, taxonomists in the field need to have access to the big bug when dealing with a potential new species. And in reality, they are housed thousands of miles away and scattered around the globe.

    Now imagine all these holotype digital 3D renderings in a secure repository, where people studying the insect world could get any high-resolution sample from anywhere in the world. The team behind this idea believes that some of these samples will become collectors’ items due to the inherent rarity of the natural world. Thus funding the conservation and documentation of more species.

    Taxonomist Samuel Bolton envisions a future where whole samples of each insect will be scanned using a high-powered microscope and rendered in three dimensions. These VEROs (virtual equivalents of real objects), will then form the backbone of insect research data, providing a very flexible and valuable ecosystem for these three-dimensional insects.

    In a world where insects are going extinct faster than we can record them, NFT VERO will provide a useful tool to protect the co-inhabitants of our tiny planet.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 昆虫学家期待NFT对标本进行分类

  • 世界各地的昆虫分类学家,也就是普通人眼中的虫子分类者,都面临着一个共同的问题。那就是,如何获得整体样本,这是一个物种被命名和描述的唯一最重要的标本。然而,这个难题的答案可能就在简陋的NFT中。

    任何给定的昆虫的主标本一般都在世界各地的博物馆的灰尘柜中。这严重阻碍了对任何新生物的分类。通常,现场的分类学家在处理潜在的新物种时,需要接触到这只大虫。而在现实中,它们被安置在数千英里之外,并分散在全球各地。

    现在想象一下,在一个安全的储存库中,所有这些整体型的数字3D渲染,研究昆虫世界的人可以从世界任何地方获得任何高清晰度的样本。这个想法背后的团队认为,由于自然界固有的稀有性,这些样本中的一些将成为收藏家的物品。从而资助更多物种的保护和记录。

    分类学家塞缪尔-博尔顿设想,在未来,每一个昆虫的整体样本都将使用高倍显微镜进行扫描,并以三维方式呈现。这些VERO(真实物体的虚拟等价物),然后将形成昆虫研究数据的主干,为这些三维昆虫提供一个非常灵活和有价值的生态系统。

    在一个昆虫灭绝的速度比我们记录它们的速度快的世界里,NFT VERO将提供一个有用的工具,以保护我们微小的行星上的共居者。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0