• Film director Jim Cummings to put his ‘Thunder Road’ script up for auction as NFT

  • Filmmaker Jim Cummings is a multi-faceted filmmaker who wrote, directed, edited and starred in his first film, Thunder Road. Now, he adds “NFT Creator” to that list.

    He is auctioning off a personal copy of his Thunder Road script on OpenSea as an Unforgivable Token (NFT) with stains, coffee stains and scribbled notes.

    “I just thought, I haven’t seen anyone really do this within the feature film realm,” he told Decrypt. “I had a thing sitting in my apartment that was incredible; flipped it open and it had all these handwritten notes of, like, half of my stupid ideas that ended up in the movie. I was like, ‘Oh, this could be a cool thing. I see stuff like that at Sotheby’s all the time. Why don’t I try to share it at an auction and then have it help fund some of our films, or some of my friends’ films?”

    He also took a page from Damien Hirst’s book; NFT purchasers will have the option to destroy the physical script if they choose to do so. “I was like, ‘Well, if someone really insists on having exclusive access to the original copy, I’m happy to rip it up or burn it,'” he says, likening the process to Banksy’s self-destructive artwork.

    “I think that’s the way it should be, that we should look at these things as not necessarily permanent, but exclusive.”

    Funding films with cryptocurrency

    As someone who is well-versed in film financing, and someone who has been investing in cryptocurrencies “for the last year and a half,” Cummings is curious about the possibilities that cryptocurrencies present for film financing.

    Thunder Road was partially funded on Kickstarter, and his latest film, Beta, was partially funded through a crowdfunding campaign – similar to crowdfunding, except that contributors received a portion of the profits instead of a DVD and a T-shirt.

    Cryptocurrency, he suggests, could help streamline the process.” With that kind of success, I can only imagine greenlighting a film, or getting a pool of investors from cryptocurrency or blockchain into a film and then producing it immediately. That kind of investment is so effortless and so much easier than the tedious process of spending three years trying to get financing in a more classic, traditional way.”

    He added that filmmakers are already experimenting with cryptocurrency financing.” I know people who are doing this; for example, I know that Macon Blair’s new movie is a film that was financed through Bitcoin. He went out of his way to make sure that’s how it was financed.”

    The Swiss film that used blockchain to turn fans into investors

    However, Cummings is somewhat skeptical about using blockchain and NFTs for film distribution. While he’s excited about the possibility of selling automatic residuals from NFTs, ultimately he believes that “blockchain rights” for films “are just a different licensing aspect – blockchain is its own form, just as theaters are the same as streaming.”

    He added that he’s “convinced that the powers that be will try to screw over independent filmmakers and independent creators and, you know, incorporate it into boilerplate contracts, so they own everything.”

    DAO Film Studios

    More intriguing is the idea of creating a decentralized autonomous organization (DAO) to produce the film, which Cummings describes as “clearly the future.”

    DAOs have been used to create everything from fashion brands to perfume companies; so why not use a DAO to make a decentralized film studio?” It’s basically a hedge fund you can run and then have it be a faculty for group decision making. I don’t think there’s anything weird about that; it’s basically what a studio already does.”

    Plus, he adds, the structure of DAO is similar to the collaborative process filmmakers have become accustomed to.” When we make a film, we send it to the hive mind of the talented filmmakers in our circle and say, ‘Am I crazy? You know, David Gordon Green or Trey Shults would be like, ‘Who can I send this to? Who can actually review this thing and say, this part sucks, make it better? I think really, it’s a pretty normal progression of doing anything these days.”

    In the short term, Cummings has a whole collection of material from his past films that could symbolically serve as NFTs for a new generation of digital film memorabilia collectors.

    “We have holes, we have things that I would never release to the public, and I’m terrified of having things from all of our films, like scenes that we didn’t put in. I think it’s like having a clean future working with those film collectors, or working with people who can benefit from it.” He hopes to find collectors who are “interested in preserving this stuff, but who can also benefit from it – learn from what it can tell them.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 电影导演吉姆-卡明斯将把他的《雷霆之路》剧本作为NFT拍卖

  • 电影导演吉姆-卡明斯是个多面手,他编写、导演、编辑并主演了他的第一部电影《雷霆之路》。现在,他将 “NFT创造者 “加入到这个名单中。

    他正在OpenSea上拍卖他的《雷霆之路》剧本的个人副本,作为不可伪造的代币(NFT),上面有污点、咖啡渍和潦草的笔记。

    “我只是想,我还没有看到有人在故事片领域内真正做到这一点,”他告诉Decrypt。”我有一个东西放在我的公寓里,这很不可思议;翻开它,它有所有这些手写的笔记,比如,我的愚蠢的半个想法,最后出现在电影里。我当时想,’哦,这可能是一个很酷的东西。我经常在苏富比拍卖会上看到这种东西。我为什么不试着在拍卖会上分享它,然后让它帮助资助我们的一些电影,或我的一些朋友的电影?”

    他还从达米安-赫斯特的书中吸取了教训;如果NFT的购买者选择销毁实体剧本,他们将有选择权。他说:”我当时想,’好吧,如果有人真的坚持要独占原始副本,我很乐意把它撕碎,或者烧掉,'”他把这个过程比作班克斯的自毁艺术品。

    “我认为应该是这样的,我们应该把这些东西看成不一定是永久的,而是独家的。”

    用加密货币资助电影

    作为一个精通电影融资的人,以及一个 “在过去一年半里 “一直在投资加密货币的人,Cummings对加密货币为电影融资带来的可能性感到好奇。

    《雷霆之路》的部分资金是在Kickstarter上筹集的,而他的最新电影《测试版》的部分资金是通过众筹活动筹集的–与众筹类似,只是贡献者获得了利润的一部分,而不是一张DVD和一件T恤。

    他建议,加密货币可以帮助精简这一过程。”有了这样的成功,我只能想象为一部电影开绿灯,或者让来自加密货币或区块链的投资者池进入一部电影,然后立即制作。这种投资是如此不费吹灰之力,而且比起花三年时间试图以更经典、更传统的方式获得融资的繁琐程序要简单得多。”

    他补充说,电影制作人已经在尝试使用加密货币融资。”我知道有人正在这样做;比如,我知道麦肯-布莱尔的新电影是一部通过比特币获得融资的电影。他不遗余力地确保这就是它的融资方式。”

    使用区块链将粉丝变成投资者的瑞士电影

    然而,卡明斯对使用区块链和NFTs进行电影发行有些怀疑。虽然他对销售NFT的自动剩余物的可能性感到兴奋,但最终他认为,电影的 “区块链权利””只是一个不同的许可方面–区块链是它自己的形式,就像影院与流媒体是一样的。”

    他补充说,他 “确信当权者将试图搞垮独立电影人和独立创作者,而且,你知道,将其纳入模板合同,所以他们拥有一切。”

    DAO电影工作室

    更耐人寻味的是创建一个分散的自治组织(DAO)来制作电影的想法,卡明斯将此描述为 “显然是未来”。

    DAO已经被用来创建从时尚品牌到香水公司的一切;那么为什么不使用一个DAO来制作一个分散的电影工作室呢?”这基本上是一个你可以运行的对冲基金,然后让它成为一个团体决策的教员。我不认为这有什么奇怪的;这基本上是一个工作室已经做的事情。”

    另外,他补充说,DAO的结构与电影制作人已经习惯的合作过程相似。”当我们制作电影时,我们把它送到我们圈子里有才华的电影制作人的蜂巢式思维中,并说,’我是不是疯了?你知道,大卫-戈登-格林(David Gordon Green)或特雷-舒尔茨(Trey Shults)都会说,’我可以把这个送给谁?谁能真正审查这个东西并说,这部分很烂,让它变得更好?我认为真的,这是如今做任何事情的一个非常正常的进展。”

    在短期内,卡明斯有一整套来自他过去电影的材料,可以象征性地作为新一代数字电影纪念品收藏家的NFTs。

    “我们有漏洞,我们有一些我永远不会向公众发布的东西,我很害怕有我们所有电影中的东西,比如我们没有放进去的场景。我认为,与那些电影收藏家合作,或者与那些能从中受益的人合作,就像有一个干净的未来”。他希望能找到那些 “有兴趣保护这些东西,但也能从中受益的收藏家–从它能告诉他们的东西中学习”。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0