• Mythic Games Receives $150 Million From Anderson, NFL, Michael Jordan

  • Low-cost startup Mythical Games, developer of the NFT-powered Blankos Block Party game, today announced a new $150 million Series C round of funding. It values the company at $1.25 billion, marking a $1 billion valuation for another so-called cryptocurrency unicorn.

    Mythical’s latest funding round was packed with big names in the venture capital world, not to mention the sports and entertainment world. Major venture capital firm Andreessen Horowitz led the round, which also included participation from cryptocurrency exchanges FTX and Binance, as well as D1 Capital, RedBird Capital and The Raine Group.

    The Series C round also included participation from 32 Equity, the investment arm of the National Football League, as well as OneTeam Partners, an investment alliance between the National Football League and the MLB’s respective player associations.

    NBA legend Michael Jordan is also involved, along with Michael Gordon of The Kraft Group (New England Patriots), Fenway Sports Group (Boston Red Sox), Mantis VC Investments of The Chainsmokers, and singer/songwriter Ryan Tedder of OneDirection.

    When asked why Mythical has attracted so many personalities from the sports industry, Matt Nutt, chief revenue officer at Mythical Games, noted that sports video games lack excitement because the market is dominated by licensed, annualized, lightly evolved simulations like EA Sports’ FIFA and Madden franchises. He credits the success of NBA Top Shot and NFTs for renewed interest in new types of sports-themed games and interactive experiences.

    “Suddenly, the category is very interesting to everyone because NFTs in particular promote the convergence of digital collectibles and video games. Everyone is rushing in,” Nutt told Decrypt. “When it’s been dormant for a decade, there’s suddenly a lot of interest.”

    Mythical Games’ latest funding comes just five months after the company secured a $75 million Series B round from investors and NFT entrepreneurs Gary Vaynerchuk, Galaxy Digital, and others. In total, Mythical has now raised over $270 million, including today’s Series C.

    Founded in 2018, Mythical Games is the product of former executives from a range of top gaming companies, including Electronic Arts, Oculus, Activision, and Zynga. its first game, a metadata-style, NFT-driven creation and game called Blankos Block Party, launched this year on PC with early access . The game has been released with licensed NFTs from partners such as fashion brand Burberry and electronic musician Deadmau5.

    Interestingly, in the press release provided by Mythical Games today about the Series C funding round, there is no mention of Blankos Block Party at all.Nutt said that Mythical will continue to support the game’s long-term roadmap, including new features and services, plus he said that its development team has grown since the beginning of this year.

    But as the studio has doubled its staff in recent months – it now has more than 150 employees and is set to expand further – the company is expanding its focus as it launches the Mythical platform to help other developers launch games powered by cryptocurrency in a player-owned economy.

    Like Blankos Block Party, the Mythical platform runs on the EOSIO blockchain platform, which is compatible with the Ether Virtual Machine (EVM). Developers Creative Mobile, CCG Lab and Abstraction Games are the first games to launch using the platform in partnership with Mythical.

    According to Nutt, Mythical will provide technology and consulting, and the latter’s services will draw on the team’s considerable video game industry experience. He said brands and companies are excited about entering the blockchain gaming space, but it can be costly and potentially even damaging if done poorly.

    “Those of us in the gaming industry embody these polarized tensions between the desire to do innovative new things and being experts at mitigating risk,” Nutter said.” There are a lot of different things you can do with this technology that are innovative and disruptive. But you can also deploy this technology in ways that can be quite damaging in terms of game experience, community building and community management over long periods of time.”

    Axie Infinity has become the first major success story for blockchain and play-to-play games, but it’s still early days in the space, Nutt said, adding that Mythical’s goal now is to help bring more of its partners’ projects to life while experimenting to establish best practices and ultimately move the space forward.

    “We don’t claim to have the answers,” he said. He says, “We see through our partnerships what works and what doesn’t so we can cross-pollinate between all of our partners – really help each other get up the learning curve as quickly as possible.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 神话游戏公司从安德森、NFL、迈克尔-乔丹处获得1.5亿美元资金

  • 低成本创业公司Mythical Games是NFT驱动的Blankos Block Party游戏的开发商,今天宣布了新一轮1.5亿美元的C轮融资。它对该公司的估值为12.5亿美元,标志着另一个所谓的加密货币独角兽的估值达到了10亿美元。

    Mythical的最新一轮融资挤满了风险投资界的大人物,更不用说体育和娱乐界了。主要风险投资公司Andreessen Horowitz领导了本轮融资,其中还包括来自加密货币交易所FTX和Binance,以及D1 Capital、RedBird Capital和The Raine Group的参与。

    此外,C轮融资还包括美国国家橄榄球联盟的投资部门32 Equity以及OneTeam Partners的参与,后者是美国国家橄榄球联盟和美国职业棒球联盟各自的球员协会之间的投资联盟。

    NBA传奇人物迈克尔-乔丹也参与其中,还有卡夫集团(新英格兰爱国者队)、芬威体育集团(波士顿红袜队)的迈克尔-戈登、The Chainsmokers的Mantis VC投资公司,以及OneDirection的歌手/作曲家瑞恩-泰德。

    当被问及为什么Mythical吸引了这么多来自体育行业的人物时,Mythical Games首席收入官Matt Nutt指出,体育视频游戏缺乏兴奋点,因为该市场被授权、年度化、轻度进化的模拟游戏所主导,如EA Sports的FIFA和Madden专营权。他认为,NBA Top Shot和NFTs的成功使人们对新型的体育主题游戏和互动体验重新产生兴趣。

    “突然间,这个类别对每个人都非常有趣,因为NFTs特别促进了数字收藏品和视频游戏的融合。每个人都在赶来,”Nutt告诉Decrypt。”当它沉寂了十年之久的时候,突然有了很多兴趣。”

    Mythical Games的最新融资是在该公司从投资者和NFT企业家Gary Vaynerchuk、Galaxy Digital等人那里获得7500万美元的B轮融资后仅五个月进行的。总的来说,Mythical现在已经筹集了超过2.7亿美元,包括今天的C系列。

    Mythical Games成立于2018年,是来自一系列顶级游戏公司的前高管的产物,包括电子艺术、Oculus、动视和Zynga。它的第一款游戏,是一款元数据风格的、以NFT为驱动的创作和游戏,名为Blankos Block Party,今年在PC上启动了早期访问。该游戏已经发布了来自时尚品牌Burberry和电子音乐家Deadmau5等合作伙伴的授权NFTs。

    有趣的是,在今天神话游戏提供的关于C轮融资的新闻稿中,根本没有提到Blankos Block Party。Nutt说,Mythical将继续支持游戏的长期路线图,包括新的功能和服务,另外他还说,自今年年初以来,其开发团队已经壮大。

    但是,由于该工作室在最近几个月将其员工人数增加了一倍–现在已经超过150名员工,并将进一步扩大,该公司正在扩大其重点,因为它推出了Mythical平台,以帮助其他开发商推出由玩家拥有的经济体系的加密货币驱动的游戏。

    与Blankos Block Party一样,Mythical平台在EOSIO区块链平台上运行,它与以太坊虚拟机(EVM)兼容。开发商Creative Mobile、CCG Lab和Abstraction Games是首批与Mythical合作推出使用该平台的游戏。

    据Nutt说,Mythical将提供技术和咨询,后者的服务将借鉴该团队相当多的视频游戏行业经验。他说,品牌和公司对进入区块链游戏领域感到兴奋,但如果做得不好,可能成本很高,甚至有可能造成损害。

    “我们这些从事游戏行业的人,在渴望做创新的新事物和成为减轻风险的专家之间体现了这些两极的紧张关系,”纳特说。”你可以用这种技术做很多不同的事情,这是创新和破坏性的。但是,你也可以在游戏体验、社区建设和社区管理方面,以长时间的方式部署这项技术,这可能是相当有害的。”

    Axie Infinity已经成为区块链和玩赚游戏的第一个主要成功案例,但它在这个领域仍然是早期。Nutt说,Mythical现在的目标是帮助将更多合作伙伴的项目变为现实,同时进行实验以建立最佳实践,并最终推动该空间的发展。

    他说:”我们并不自称有答案,”他说。他说:”我们通过我们的合作伙伴关系看到什么是可行的,什么是不可行的,这样我们就可以在我们所有的合作伙伴之间进行交叉授粉–真正帮助对方尽快提高学习曲线。”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0