• John Cena calls his NFT sale a ‘catastrophic failure’

  • Professional wrestler and actor John Cena says fans have only purchased 7.4 percent of the World Wrestling Entertainment, or WWE, non-forgeable tokens (NFTs) he offered last month.

    Cena said at the Florida 2021 Supercon that selling his WWE NFTs as part of a physical collection – hats, shirts, wristbands, belts, towels, autographed photos and digital collectibles – was a mistake. The organization offered 500 gold-level packages with NFTs for $1,000, but only a fraction of them sold.

    “I talk about failure a lot – the idea failed,” Cena said.” Myself and the WWE guys thought $1,000 was a fair price point. We were wrong. We were absolutely wrong.”

    He added.

    “We sold 37 pieces. It was a catastrophic failure.”

    Cena and WWE released two tiers of NFTs for the wrestling star: a 24-hour auction for the “John Cena Platinum NFT” and 500 limited edition NFTs the next day as part of the aforementioned physical collectible package. The Platinum NFT sold for $21,000 and the highest bidder won VIP tickets to WrestleMania 38 in Dallas or WrestleMania 39 in Los Angeles – with accommodations.

    The WWE veteran touted the cryptocurrency space on social media long before the NFT’s popularity surged. Before the 2017 Bitcoin (BTC) surge – when the price was around $4,000 – he tweeted a photo of the physical token. Retired pro wrestler The Undertaker, who was part of WWE until 2020, has also appeared in the NFT’s collection.

    It’s unclear whether wrestling fans were scared off by the NFT’s price – Cena himself estimated the digital artwork to be worth about $500 – or simply because of the physical collection. In July, an entrepreneur auctioned off both a job application from Apple co-founder Steve Jobs and an identical NFT. the physical paper ended up selling for $343,000, while the final bid for the NFT was 12 Ether (ETH), which was around $27,460 at the time.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 约翰-塞纳称自己的NFT销售是 “灾难性的失败

  • 职业摔跤手兼演员约翰-塞纳说,粉丝们只购买了他上个月提供的世界摔跤娱乐公司(或WWE)不可伪造代币(NFTs)的7.4%。

    塞纳在佛罗里达州2021年超级大会上说,将他的WWE NFTs作为实体收藏品–帽子、衬衫、腕带、腰带、毛巾、签名照和数字收藏品–的一部分进行销售是一个错误。该组织以1,000美元的价格提供了500个带有NFT的黄金级套餐,但只有一小部分售出。

    “我经常谈及失败–这个想法失败了,”塞纳说。”我自己和WWE的人认为1000美元是一个公平的价格点。我们错了。我们绝对错了。”

    他补充说:

    “我们卖出了37件。这是一场灾难性的失败。”

    塞纳和WWE为这位摔跤明星发布了两层NFT:24小时内拍卖 “约翰-塞纳白金NFT”,第二天500个限量版NFT作为上述实物收藏品包的一部分。铂金NFT的售价为21,000美元,出价最高的人获得了达拉斯摔角狂热大赛38周年或洛杉矶摔角狂热大赛39周年的VIP门票–附带住宿。

    这位WWE老将在NFT人气激增之前,早就在社交媒体上宣传了加密货币空间。在2017年比特币(BTC)大涨之前–当时价格在4000美元左右–他在推特上发了一张实物代币的照片。退休的职业摔跤手The Undertaker,在2020年之前是WWE的一员,也曾出现在NFT的收藏中。

    目前还不清楚摔跤迷们是被NFT的价格吓跑了–塞纳本人估计数字艺术品的价值大约为500美元–还是仅仅因为实物收藏品。今年7月,一位企业家同时拍卖了苹果公司联合创始人史蒂夫-乔布斯的一份工作申请和一份同样的NFT。实物纸最终以34.3万美元成交,而NFT的最终出价是12个以太币(ETH),当时大约是27460美元。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0