• US regulators pass bill to tax NFT and cryptocurrency investments

  • Shortly after South Korea made headlines by arguing that NFTs are not regulated, the United States took the opposite approach. Soon, U.S. investors in the non-financial sector will need to start reporting to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

    Under the recently signed “H.R. 3684 Infrastructure Act,” NFTs are now considered “cash” and will be regulated accordingly. As a result, brokers and investors will be required to begin reporting to the IRS beginning in tax year 2023.

    Twitter user and CPA James Yochum took the time to explain how this will affect the NFT space. As a result, investors will need to report any assets with cash equivalents of $10,000 or more, thus requiring creators and sellers to fill out an 8300 tax form for their assets. In addition, they will need to obtain a Social Security number and proof of identity from the buyer. Traders will have 15 days to complete the required information, and failure to do so will represent a felony.

    All of this additional legislation highlights the disparity in regulatory requirements between countries around the world. Some countries have taken a tougher line than others, and it’s clear that in this instance, governments want a piece of the cryptocurrency pie. However, with the elite of the tech-savvy generation siding with the digital sector, a response is eagerly awaited.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 美国监管机构通过了对NFT和加密币投资征税的法案

  • 在韩国认为NFTs不受监管而成为头条新闻后不久,美国就采取了相反的做法。很快,美国非金融领域的投资者,将需要开始向美国国税局(IRS)报告。

    根据最近签署的 “H.R.3684基础设施法案”,NFTs现在被视为 “现金”,并将受到相应的监管。因此,从2023年纳税年度开始,经纪人和投资者必须开始向国税局报告。

    推特用户和注册会计师James Yochum抽出时间来解释这将如何影响NFT空间。因此,投资者将需要报告任何现金等价物为1万美元或以上的资产,因此要求创建者和卖家为其资产填写8300税表。此外,他们将需要从买家那里获得社会安全号码和身份证明。交易者将有15天的时间来完成所需的信息,不这样做将代表重罪。

    所有这些额外的立法突出了世界各国在监管要求上的差距。一些国家采取了比其他国家更强硬的路线,显然在这个例子中,政府希望从加密货币中分一杯羹。然而,随着精通技术的一代的精英们站在数字领域的一边,人们急切地期待着回应。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0