• Nike files for virtual goods trademark in Facebook’s Meta rebranding

  • Nike has applied to register trademarks for virtual and downloadable goods under its brand.

    The sporting goods giant filed four applications with the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office on Oct. 27. The applications reportedly list a variety of digital goods, including headwear, eyewear, bags, backpacks and sports equipment.

    What’s more, the applications are based on intent to use, meaning that the patents themselves won’t actually be finalized until Nike makes commercial use of them.

    The news comes in the context of Facebook’s (now Meta’s) rebranding and embrace of metaverse, a persistent virtual universe that users can interact with as digital avatars. These virtual environments can be used for social interaction, gaming, and even work.

    This isn’t the first time the sports giant has embraced Web 3 technology.

    In 2019, Nike was awarded a patent for “cryptographically secure digital assets,” including “Cryptokicks,” which includes token data and attributes of physical Nike shoes that accompany them in the real world.

    Nike, Meta and metaverse

    Nike’s latest series of patents arrived during Facebook’s name change to Meta, which Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg said marked “the beginning of the next chapter of the Internet.”

    “The next platform will be more immersive – a tangible internet where you experience it, not just look at it. We’re calling it a metaspace, and it will touch every product we make,” Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg said last week.

    “In a metaspace,” he added, “you can do almost anything you can imagine – get together with friends and family, work, learn, play, shop, create.

    In the process of rebranding, Zuckerberg gave a nod to some of the legacy issues that plagued Facebook and his leadership, including the disruption of privacy.” Zuckerberg said, “Privacy and security need to be built into the meta-space from day one.

    Facebook whistleblowers bought “cryptocurrency” at the right time and have “no problem with it for the foreseeable future.”

    However, the massive controversy that plagued the social media giant still exists today.

    Leaked documents from Facebook product manager-turned-whistleblower Frances Haugen – collectively known as The Facebook Files – have embroiled Zuckerberg’s social media platform in a plethora of controversies, including poor responses to COVID-19 misinformation, poor handling of fake news, and even poorer responses to employee concerns about human trafficking.

    Haugen added that Facebook’s filings prove that the social media giant put “growth over safety.”

    She recently said she was financially stable enough to shed light on the controversies because she bought cryptocurrency “at the right time.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 耐克在Facebook的Meta品牌重塑中申请虚拟商品商标

  • 耐克公司已经申请为其品牌的虚拟和可下载商品注册商标。

    10月27日,这家体育用品巨头向美国专利和商标局提交了四项申请。据报道,这些申请列出了各种数字商品,包括头饰、眼镜、包、背包和运动器材。

    更重要的是,这些申请是基于意向性使用,这意味着在耐克对其进行商业使用之前,专利本身实际上不会被最终确定。

    这一消息是在Facebook(现在是Meta公司)重塑品牌和拥抱元宇宙的背景下发布的,元宇宙是一个持久的虚拟宇宙,用户可以作为数字化身与之互动。这些虚拟环境可用于社会互动、游戏,甚至工作。

    这并不是这家体育巨头第一次拥抱Web 3技术。

    2019年,耐克公司获得了 “加密安全数字资产 “的专利,其中包括 “Cryptokicks”,它包括现实世界中伴随的耐克实体鞋的代币数据和属性。

    耐克、Meta和metaverse

    耐克最新的一系列专利是在Facebook改名为Meta期间到来的,Meta首席执行官马克-扎克伯格说,这标志着 “互联网的下一章的开始”。

    “下一个平台将更有沉浸感–一个有形的互联网,你在其中体验,而不仅仅是看着它。我们称其为元空间,它将触及我们制造的每一个产品,”Meta首席执行官马克-扎克伯格上周说。

    “他补充说:”在元空间中,你几乎可以做任何你能想象到的事情–与朋友和家人聚在一起,工作、学习、玩耍、购物、创造。

    在重塑品牌的过程中,扎克伯格对困扰Facebook和他的领导层的一些遗留问题点了点头,包括对隐私的破坏。”扎克伯格说:”隐私和安全需要从第一天起就建立在元空间中。

    脸书举报人在正确的时间购买了 “加密货币”,并且 “在可预见的未来没有问题”。

    然而,困扰这家社交媒体巨头的大量争议今天仍然存在。

    脸书产品经理转为举报人的弗朗西斯-豪根(Frances Haugen)泄露的文件–统称为《脸书档案》–将扎克伯格的社交媒体平台卷入了大量的争议之中,包括对COVID-19错误信息的反应不力,对假新闻的处理不力,以及对员工关注的人口贩运的反应更不力。

    豪根还说,Facebook的文件证明,这家社交媒体巨头将 “增长置于安全之上”。

    她最近说,由于 “在正确的时间 “购买了加密货币,她在经济上足够稳定,可以对这些争议进行揭露。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0