• Tencent and Alibaba trying to pursue NFT business – but not as we know it

  • Two of China’s biggest tech giants have quietly launched their own trading platforms for non-fungible tokens (NFTs) in recent weeks – despite the fact that Chinese authorities are currently waging an all-out war against cryptocurrencies.

    Tencent’s Magic Core NFT trading platform has officially launched with the debut of a special series of 300 tokens tied to the talk show Thirteen Invitations.

    Tencent seems keen to maximise its entertainment credentials. In addition to its technological prowess, the conglomerate is one of China’s largest producers of reality and variety shows, as well as TV series and pop music.

    The tokens are being sold for around $1.25 each. The show premiered in 2016 and airs 13 episodes per season, all featuring interviews with filmmakers, musicians, media personalities, artists, writers, entertainers, entrepreneurs and more.

    At first glance, the 300 NFT projects function in much the same way as tokens on popular networks like Ether (ETH), where they are bought and sold using ETH – but there is one key difference. Instead of using a major public blockchain protocol, Tencent NFTs are issued on a private network using points or fiat gateways.

    Tencent claims that third-party creators will also be able to launch their own NFTs on its network.

    Thirteen Invitations NFTs will offer exclusive audio on topics from the latest series.

    Intriguingly, perhaps Tencent is thought to have some dedicated division working on creating other NFT-related products, unrelated to the new platform.

    Music will be a major focus of the new platform going forward. The QQ Music subsidiary is currently conducting closed-door testing of an entirely music-based NFT range on the platform, with plans to launch blockchain-powered products in future digital album and merchandise releases by Tencent Music Entertainment Group and QQ Artists.

    This is nearly identical to the strategy being taken by Alibaba’s blockchain subsidiary, Anthem Group. Anthem also released its own NFT platform in recent weeks, which also leverages private blockchain protocol technology.

    It’s unclear how secondary markets will work with the new paradigm. It is entirely possible that these tech giants want to operate their platforms on the ethereum network or other major protocols, but have been forced to scale back their plans due to regulatory pressure.

    Anthem Group’s NFT debut line with the Dunhuang Research Institute, also known as the Dunhuang Art Institute, was released in June, with some low-priced items available for Alibaba membership points. Secondary market transactions were initially allowed, but only on Ant Group’s private blockchain network.

    However, Taobao’s Xiananyu (China’s answer to eBay) has since removed some NFT items from its virtual shelves, possibly to avoid government trouble.

    Alibaba made it clear that these NFTs were not for “commercial purposes” and distanced itself from NFT activities “related to cryptocurrencies”.

    Over the past few years, the Chinese government has sought to crack down on most forms of blockchain technology that do not utilize private networks – efforts that have intensified in recent months, despite its keenness to promote interoperable solutions with popular global networks.

    The government has also been on a mission to curb the immense power of China’s tech giants, with Baidu also caught up in a broad regulatory crackdown that sent most major domestic tech stocks plummeting 15-20 percent.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 腾讯和阿里巴巴试图追求NFT业务–但不是我们所知的那样

  • 中国最大的两家科技巨头在最近几周悄悄地推出了自己的不可伪造代币(NFT)交易平台–尽管中国当局目前正在对加密货币发动全面战争。

    腾讯的Magic Core NFT交易平台已经正式启动,并首次推出了与脱口秀节目《十三邀》相联系的300个特别代币系列。

    腾讯似乎热衷于将其娱乐资质最大化。除了其技术实力外,该企业集团是中国最大的真人秀和综艺节目制作商之一,也是电视剧和流行音乐的制作商。

    这些代币以每个1.25美元左右的价格出售。该节目于2016年首播,每季播出13集,都有对电影人、音乐家、媒体人、艺术家、作家、艺人、企业家等的采访。

    乍一看,300个NFT项目的功能与以太坊(ETH)等流行网络上的代币基本相同,它们在那里使用ETH进行买卖–但有一个关键区别。腾讯NFTs没有使用一个主要的公共区块链协议,而是使用积分或法币网关在一个私人网络上发行。

    腾讯声称,第三方创造者也将能够在其网络上推出他们自己的NFTs。

    Thirteen Invitations NFTs将提供最新系列节目中的主题的独家音频。

    耐人寻味的是,也许腾讯被认为有一些专门的部门致力于创造其他NFT相关产品,与新平台无关。

    音乐将是新平台未来的一个主要焦点。目前QQ音乐子公司正在对平台上完全基于音乐的NFT系列产品进行闭门测试,计划在未来腾讯音乐娱乐集团和QQ艺人发布的数字专辑和商品中推出区块链驱动的产品。

    这与阿里巴巴的区块链子公司蚂蚁金服集团正在采取的战略几乎相同。蚂蚁金服也在最近几周发布了自己的NFT平台,也是利用私有区块链协议技术。

    目前还不清楚二级市场将如何与新的范式合作。完全有可能的是,这些科技巨头希望在以太坊网络或其他主要协议上运营其平台,但由于监管压力而被迫缩减计划。

    蚂蚁金服集团与敦煌研究院(又称敦煌艺术研究院)合作的NFT首发线在6月发布,一些低价商品可用于阿里巴巴的会员积分。二级市场交易最初被允许,但只在蚂蚁集团的私有区块链网络上进行。

    然而,淘宝网的Xiananyu(中国对eBay的回应)后来从其虚拟货架上删除了一些NFT项目,可能是为了避免政府的麻烦。

    阿里巴巴明确指出,这些NFTs并非用于 “商业目的”,并与 “与加密货币有关的 “NFT活动保持距离。

    过去几年,中国政府一直在寻求打击大多数不利用私人网络的区块链技术形式–最近几个月加强了努力,尽管它热衷于促进与全球流行网络的互操作性解决方案。

    政府也一直在执行一项任务,以遏制中国科技巨头的巨大力量,百度也陷入了广泛的监管打击中,使大多数国内主要科技股暴跌15%-20%。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0