• Artist Bansky warns of site’s security flaws a week before NFT scam

  • In the past week, a link on graffiti artist Banksy’s website advertised an artwork as the creator’s first NFT (non-fungible token).

    The failure of the NFT auction

    A British collector won the auction for $366,000 for this limited NFT artwork, before realizing it was a fake. A key measure of NFT in the art world is that the piece includes a unique digital certificate of ownership that can be bought and sold “tokenized”.

    The page offering the NFT, Banksy.co.uk/NFT, was removed immediately after the auction took place, and a statement from the Banksy team read, “Any Banksy NFT auctions are not affiliated with the artist in any way.”

    The British collector, who is known online as @Pranksy, won the auction by outbidding his competitors by 90 percent.Pranksy is a Banksy fan and avid NFT collector.

    Pranksy said he was frustrated and “burned” after having more than $300,000 in cryptocurrency taken away from him. They were quickly relieved when the scammers strangely returned most of the amount to them at the end of the day.Pranksy believes that the news coverage could have led the public to identify the scammers, and that’s what drove them to refund the money. At the end of the day, however, Pranksy claims to have still lost $5,000 because the transaction fees were not refunded.

    Despite being scammed, Pranksy expressed gratitude, “I feel very fortunate because many other people in similar situations would not have had the same outcome if they had less influence.”

    Banksy’s team later released a statement saying that “artist Banksy did not create any NFT artwork”. But it still raises questions about how the site was compromised.

    The warning was ignored

    A cybersecurity expert apparently warned Banks’ team that the site was flawed and could be exploited. However, that warning was ignored. According to Sam Curry, a white hat hacker and founder of security consultancy Palisade, he first mentioned finding the vulnerability in Banks’ website on social networking platform Discord last month.

    “I was on a security forum and multiple people had posted links to the site. I clicked on one and immediately saw that it was vulnerable,” Curry explained. He contacted Banks’ team via email – an attempt that was allegedly ignored.

    Curry continued to try to contact Banks’ team on other platforms, including Instagram. however, his efforts came to a dead end and he never received any response. The first report was initially sent out via email on August 25, prior to Curry’s disclosure.

    Curry added that the flaw in the site has since been fixed. The flaw allowed outsiders to create arbitrary files on the site, where they could publish third-party pages and content.

    Another Banksy stunt?

    Some comments have led to speculation that the incident may be just another Banksy stunt.

    Professor Paul Gough, principal and vice-chancellor of Bournemouth University of the Arts, said the timing, artistic style and setting did not fit.

    “I don’t think it was a prank by Banksy. For me, the timing was wrong and the setting didn’t feel right. He’d just finished his ‘Spraycation’ stunt where he blew up 10 places in East Anglia and posted a video about it on social media.”

    Gough also added that the fake artwork itself was a far cry from Banksy’s signature style.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 艺术家Bansky在NFT诈骗案发生前一周警告网站存在安全漏洞

  • 在过去的一周里,涂鸦艺术家班克斯基网站上的一个链接,将一件艺术品宣传为创作者的第一个NFT(不可伪造的代币)。

    NFT拍卖的失败

    一位英国收藏家以366,000美元的价格赢得了拍卖,购买了这一有限的NFT艺术品,然后才意识到这是一个假货。在艺术领域,衡量NFT的一个关键标准是,该作品包括一个可以买卖的 “代币化 “的唯一数字所有权证书。

    提供NFT的页面Banksy.co.uk/NFT在拍卖发生后立即被删除,Banksy团队的声明写道:”任何Banksy NFT拍卖都与艺术家没有任何关系。”

    这位英国收藏家在网上的名字是@Pranksy,他的出价比竞争对手的出价高出90%,从而赢得了这次拍卖。Pranksy是班克斯的粉丝,也是狂热的NFT收藏家。

    Pranksy表示,在被人拿走30多万美元的加密货币后,感到很沮丧和 “烧伤”。他们很快就松了一口气,因为骗子很奇怪地在一天结束时将大部分金额返还给他们。Pranksy认为,新闻报道可以引导公众确定骗子的身份,而这正是推动他们退款的原因。然而,在一天结束时,Pranksy声称仍然损失了5000美元,因为交易费没有被退还。

    尽管被骗了,但普兰斯基表示感谢,”我感到非常幸运,因为其他很多人在类似的情况下,如果影响力不大,就不会有同样的结果”。

    班克斯的团队后来发表声明说,”艺术家班克斯没有创作任何NFT艺术品”。但这仍然让人怀疑该网站是如何被破坏的。

    警告被忽视

    一位网络安全专家显然警告过班克斯的团队,该网站有缺陷,可能被人利用。然而,该警告被忽略了。据安全咨询公司Palisade的创始人、白帽黑客Sam Curry说,他上个月在社交网络平台Discord上首次提到发现了班克斯网站的漏洞。

    “我当时在一个安全论坛上,多人发布了该网站的链接。我点击了一个,并立即看到它有漏洞,”库里解释说。他通过电子邮件与班克斯的团队取得联系–据称这一尝试被忽略了。

    库里继续尝试在其他平台上联系班克斯的团队,包括Instagram。然而,他的努力走到了死胡同,他从未收到任何回应。在库里披露之前,第一份报告最初是在8月25日通过电子邮件发出的。

    库里补充说,该网站的缺陷后来已经被修复。该漏洞允许外人在网站上创建任意文件,他们可以在那里发布第三方的网页和内容。

    另一个班克斯特技?

    一些意见导致人们猜测,这一事件可能只是班克斯的另一个噱头。

    伯恩茅斯艺术大学的校长和副校长保罗-高夫教授说,时间、艺术风格和设置都不符合。

    “我不认为这是班克斯的恶作剧。对我来说,时机不对,背景感觉不合适。他刚刚完成了他的’Spraycation’特技,他在东安格利亚炸了10个地方,并在社交媒体上发布了一个关于它的视频。”

    高夫还补充说,这些假艺术品本身就与班克斯的标志性风格相去甚远。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0