• Sotheby’s to auction digital art in a digital world

  • Sotheby’s is launching its own metaspace to offer potential buyers a new way to engage with non-friable token (NFT) artwork through an immersive digital experience.

    The metaspace will allow users to explore and learn about the 53 available artworks in an immersive digital world. Those interested in purchasing any of the pieces will be able to explore further using their own digital avatar created by renowned cryptocurrency designer Pak. Sotheby’s plans to expand its offerings through the metaspace to include major products, dynamic auctions, open editions and the ability to cast generated artworks. The auction house accepts payments in ethereum, bitcoin, USDC or a range of fiat currencies.

    The first auction at Metaspace, Natively Digital 1.2: The Collectors, will be up for bidding from October 14-21. This is the second NFT auction in the series, and will serve as the company’s biannual NFT flagship auction.

    “From the moment we first conceived of our first NFT sale,” says Max Moore, co-head of digital art sales at Sotheby’s Hong Kong, “we recognized that Sotheby’s was in a unique position to connect the emerging NFT ecosystem with the traditional art world.” Since then, we’ve spent months exploring every aspect of the digital art scene, aligning ourselves with some of the most influential people in the NFT movement and building a marketplace that prioritizes curation and customization.”

    A metaspace is an immersive digital environment designed to mimic and extend real-world elements that users are able to inhabit. They recently made headlines when Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced that the social media giant was looking at ways to implement the concept on existing platforms. Metaverses have been portrayed in pop culture, such as the book-turned-movie “Ready Player One,” but online games such as “Second Life” or “World of Warcraft” can already be considered Metaverses of sorts.

    Sotheby’s has been an early adopter of cryptocurrency and blockchain in the auction world; earlier this year, the company sold a pear-shaped diamond called “The Key 10138” at an auction in Hong Kong for HK$95.1 million ($12.3 million), the most expensive jewel ever sold via cryptocurrency.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 苏富比将在数字世界中拍卖数字艺术品

  • 苏富比拍卖行正在推出自己的元空间,通过身临其境的数字体验,为潜在的买家提供接触非易碎代币(NFT)艺术品的新方式。

    元空间将允许用户在一个沉浸式的数字世界中探索和了解53件可用的艺术品。那些对购买任何作品感兴趣的人将能够使用由著名加密货币设计师Pak创建的自己的数字头像进一步探索。苏富比计划扩大通过元空间提供的服务,包括主要产品、动态拍卖、开放版本和铸造生成艺术作品的能力。该拍卖行接受以太币、比特币、USDC或一系列法定货币的支付。

    第一场在元空间举行的拍卖会 “Natively Digital 1.2: The Collectors “将于10月14日至21日进行竞标。这是该系列的第二次NFT拍卖会,并将作为该公司一年两次的NFT旗舰拍卖会。

    “香港苏富比数字艺术销售联席主管Max Moore说:”从我们第一次构思首次NFT拍卖的那一刻起,我们就认识到苏富比在将新兴的NFT生态系统与传统艺术世界联系起来方面处于一个独特的位置。”从那时起,我们花了几个月的时间来探索数字艺术领域的方方面面,与NFT运动中一些最有影响力的人结盟,构建一个优先考虑策展和定制的市场。”

    元空间是一个沉浸式的数字环境,旨在模仿和扩展现实世界的元素,用户能够在其中居住。它们最近成为头条新闻,因为Facebook首席执行官马克-扎克伯格宣布该社交媒体巨头正在研究如何在现有平台上实现这一概念。在流行文化中,Metaverses已经被描绘出来,比如从书本变成电影的 “Ready Player One”,但 “第二人生 “或 “魔兽世界 “等网络游戏已经可以被认为是Metaverses的类型。

    苏富比一直是拍卖界加密货币和区块链的早期采用者;今年早些时候,该公司在香港的一次拍卖会上以9510万港元(1230万美元)的价格出售了一颗名为 “The Key 10138 “的梨形钻石,这是通过加密货币出售的最昂贵的珠宝。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0