• What Does Apple’s Settlement of App Store Lawsuit Mean for Cryptocurrency’s NFT?

  • Crypto Twitter has been mostly silent on the news last week that Apple will settle a class action lawsuit filed by developers in 2019.

    But those aware of this momentous event are aware of the potential impact of the US tech giant loosening its grip on various sectors of the blockchain industry as a whole, particularly in relation to non-fungible tokens (NFTs).

    NFTs are unique assets that grant gamers and collectors full ownership of their digital items. You may recall that earlier this year, artist Beeple sold a digital artwork at auction for a staggering $69.3 million. Since then, the industry has caught fire, with everyone from celebrities to charities and news outlets trying to capitalize on the craze.

    While cryptocurrencies are still being studied as an efficient and acceptable mainstream payment method, NFTs continue to break new ground.

    “Whether or not cryptocurrencies become a common form of payment in the “real world,” they are increasingly being used in gaming through NFTs and blockchain-based studios,” wrote venture capitalist Mathew Ball in a June blog post.

    Bauer argues that the main reason most cryptocurrency games and NFT platforms are browser-based only, rather than packaged as iOS apps, is because of Apple’s restrictions on smaller developers.

    On August 26, Apple agreed to ease restrictions on smaller developers in a legal settlement that could see Apple pay $100 million and allow developers to direct consumers to payment tracks outside of the store. This will allow developers to avoid Apple’s charge of up to 30 percent for online purchases in iOS apps.

    The Cameron et al. v. Apple settlement is awaiting approval from U.S. District Court Judge Yvonne Gonzalez Rogers in the Northern District of California.

    If all goes well, Apple will also allow developers around the world to discuss alternative payment methods directly with customers, using data collected from within their apps, pending customer permission.

    Some believe that the extension offered to NFTs will be a major win for the developers and creators behind cryptocurrency-based projects, who will suddenly gain access to a large number of tech-savvy users.

    “This is a landmark case for the NFT industry,” said Simon Kertonegoro, CEO of MyMetaverse and marketing consultant for NFT powerhouse Enjin.” In the near future, NFTs will be sold on websites, games, apps and decentralized marketplaces on the Internet. Users will then hopefully be able to plug these NFTs into iOS apps and enjoy their in-app utility.”

    Kertonegoro joins a growing list of NFT advocates who see Apple’s settlement as a “big step” toward the tech giant becoming an ecosystem capable of “fully supporting NFTs.”

    Legal woes

    Developer fees, as well as Apple’s rules requiring the use of the tech giant’s payment options in apps where no other payment method is available, also form a large part of a separate lawsuit filed by Epic Games, the developer of the “Fortnite” video game.

    Epic Games Inc. v. Apple Inc. is considered a landmark antitrust case and is currently being presided over by the same judge who oversaw the Cameron et al. v. Apple settlement.

    Last week’s proposal hits at the heart of the problem for small developers with less than $1 million in annual revenue. It’s also the first major concession Apple has made in several antitrust investigations. Apple has defended its app store practices, which impose strict rules on developers using contact information obtained from customers who sign up through the app store.

    In a statement last week, Apple said it “appreciates the feedback from developers” that helped lead to the settlement and that the tech giant “respects the ongoing judicial review process” while praising its app store as “an economic miracle.”

    Pending approval, the agreement provides that developers can share payment options with customers outside of their iOS apps, expand subscription price points as well as in-app purchases, and that Apple will create a new fund to help U.S. developers.

    “Apple allowing developers to accept payments directly from consumers outside of its app store is a huge win for the NFT industry,” said Mateen Soudagar, a blogger and investor in blockchain and NFT.” There is no doubt that a large number of the world’s device users are mobile based, so the ability to expand current games, marketplaces, collectible items and other web3/NFT based items to a huge new, digital native user base is incredible for the industry.”

    Soudagar, like his contemporaries, believes the agreement will have a significant impact on the NFT industry, which could take on a whole new form in the coming year.

    “I expect the NFT industry to look very different …… and the expansion into mobile is definitely the catalyst to make that happen.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 苹果解决应用商店诉讼对加密货币的NFT意味着什么?

  • 上周有消息称,苹果将在2019年解决开发者提起的集体诉讼,Crypto Twitter大多保持沉默。

    但那些了解这一重大事件的人意识到,美国科技巨头放松对整个区块链行业各部门的控制,尤其是与非可替代代币(NFTs)有关的潜在影响。

    NFTs是独特的资产,授予游戏玩家和收藏家对其数字物品的完全所有权。你可能还记得,今年早些时候,艺术家Beeple在拍卖会上以令人震惊的6930万美元的价格出售了一件数字艺术品。此后,这个行业火了起来,从名人到慈善机构和新闻机构都在试图利用这一热潮。

    虽然加密货币作为一种高效和可接受的主流支付方式仍在研究中,但NFTs继续开拓新的领域。

    “风险投资家Mathew Ball在6月的一篇博文中写道:”无论加密货币是否成为 “现实世界 “中常见的支付形式,它们正通过NFTs和基于区块链的工作室越来越多地被用于游戏中。

    鲍尔认为,大多数加密货币游戏和NFT平台只基于浏览器,而不是打包成iOS应用程序的主要原因是苹果对小型开发商的限制。

    8月26日,苹果公司同意在一项法律解决方案中放宽对小型开发商的限制,苹果公司可能会支付1亿美元,并允许开发商将消费者引导到商店之外的支付轨道。这将允许开发者避免苹果对iOS应用中的在线购物收取高达30%的费用。

    卡梅伦等人诉苹果公司的和解协议正在等待美国加州北区地区法院法官伊冯娜-冈萨雷斯-罗杰斯的批准。

    如果一切顺利,苹果公司还将允许世界各地的开发者直接与客户讨论替代付款方式,使用从其应用程序内部收集的数据,等待客户的许可。

    一些人认为,向NFTs提供的扩展将为基于加密货币的项目背后的开发者和创作者带来重大胜利,他们将突然获得大量精通技术的用户。

    “MyMetaverse的首席执行官兼NFT大公司Enjin的营销顾问Simon Kertonegoro说:”这是NFT行业的一个里程碑式的案例。”在不久的将来,NFT将在互联网上的网站、游戏、应用程序和去中心化的市场上销售。然后,用户将希望能够将这些NFT插入iOS应用程序,并享受其应用内的效用。”

    Kertonegoro加入了越来越多的NFT倡导者名单,他们认为苹果公司的和解是朝着科技巨头成为一个能够 “完全支持NFTs “的生态系统迈出的 “一大步”。

    法律困境

    开发者费用,以及苹果公司要求在没有其他支付方式的应用程序中使用该科技巨头的支付选项的规则,也构成了《堡垒之夜》电子游戏开发商Epic Games提起的单独法律诉讼的很大一部分。

    Epic Games公司诉苹果公司案被认为是一个具有里程碑意义的反垄断案件,目前正由监督Cameron等人诉苹果公司和解案的同一法官主持。

    上周的提案击中了年收入低于100万美元的小开发商的核心问题。这也是苹果公司在多项反垄断调查中做出的第一个重大让步。苹果公司为其应用程序商店的做法进行了辩护,该商店对开发者使用从通过应用程序商店注册的客户那里获得的联系信息进行了严格规定。

    在上周的一份声明中,苹果公司表示,它 “感谢开发者的反馈”,这些反馈有助于达成和解协议,而且这家科技巨头 “尊重正在进行的司法审查程序”,同时称赞其应用程序商店是 “一个经济奇迹”。

    在获得批准之前,该协议规定,开发者可以在其iOS应用之外与客户分享支付选项,扩大订阅价格点以及应用内购买,而且苹果将设立一个新的基金来帮助美国开发者。

    “苹果公司允许开发者在其应用程序商店之外直接接受消费者的付款,这对NFT行业来说是一个巨大的胜利,”区块链和NFT的博客和投资者Mateen Soudagar说。”毫无疑问,世界上大量的设备用户是基于移动的,因此能够将目前的游戏、市场、收藏品项目和其他基于web3/NFT的项目扩大到一个巨大的新的、数字原生用户群,对这个行业来说是不可思议的。”

    Soudagar和他的同时代人一样,认为该协议将对NFT行业产生重大影响,该行业在未来一年可能会呈现出一种全新的形式。

    “我期望NFT行业看起来大不相同……而扩展到移动领域绝对是实现这一目标的催化剂。”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0