• NFT Discord Hacker Who Defrauded Millions Hunted Down by Morphisec

  • Morphisec, a global security solutions provider, has discovered a new NFT Discord hack. The malware, called Babadeda crypter, targets the cryptocurrency, NFT and DeFi communities. This potentially Russian-linked cyberattack runs scams by impersonating OpenSea, Bored Ape Yacht Club, and ZED RUN marketplace accounts.

    Other vendors have reported variants of this cryptographer in the past. However, Morphisec is the first to fully disclose how it is specifically targeting the NFT community. The cryptocurrency market is now worth over $2.5 trillion, so it is a popular target for fraudsters.

    Babadeda The crypto-er behind the latest NFT Discord hack

    According to the report, Morphisec Labs researchers chose the name “Babadeda”, which translates to grandmother-grandfather, based on the Russian placeholder used by the encryptor itself. It can bypass signature-based anti-virus solutions via RAT payloads. As a result, the attacker gains administrative control over the target computer.

    The bottom line here, in all the tech talk, is that you need to be vigilant. To do this, you need to understand how this scam works and what are the red flags. From a user’s perspective, here’s how the attack works.

    First, the attackers create a Discord bot account on the company’s official Discord channel. This will allow them to impersonate the channel’s official account.

    Then, from this account, the attackers send a private message to the user. Basically, they will invite the user to download a relevant app. In return, they will allow them to access new features and benefits.

    However, instead of an application, the URL redirects the user to a decoy site. It will then download a malicious installer that will embed the cryptographer with the RAT payload in it.

    Unfortunately, the attackers are also trying to hide their malicious intent within what appears to be a legitimate application to evade detection. In fact, they have even taken extended measures to ensure that the delivery chain appears legitimate to the most technical user. For example, signing the domain with a certificate (via LetsEncrypt) to enable HTTPS connections and ensuring that the user interface of the decoy page is very similar to the user interface of the original page.

    The industry landscape

    Unfortunately, fraudsters aren’t just targeting individual users. They’re also going after larger entities. Two weeks ago, we reported that OpenSea’s security was under scrutiny after a white hat hacker discovered a fatal flaw. This was a major lifesaver as the flaw could have allowed fraudsters to create fake blue chip NFTs (think BAYC). Then, create a “mania” that ends up costing millions, if not hundreds of millions of dollars.

    Interestingly, a young 17 year old NFT hacker was involved in a phishing scam around the CreatureToadz program. Unlike most fraud cases, this one had a happy ending. the CreatureToadz team got their money back from the NFT hacker (86 ETH/$342,526) after apologizing for the breach.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 诈骗数百万人的NFT Discord黑客被Morphisec追捕归案

  • 全球安全解决方案提供商Morphisec发现了一个新的NFT Discord黑客。这个名为Babadeda crypter的恶意软件的目标是加密货币、NFT和DeFi社区。这个与俄罗斯有潜在联系的网络攻击通过冒充OpenSea、Bored Ape Yacht Club和ZED RUN市场账户运行骗局。

    其他供应商过去也报告过这种加密器的变种。然而,Morphisec是第一个完全披露它是如何专门针对NFT社区的。加密货币市场现在价值超过2.5万亿美元,所以它是欺诈者的热门目标。

    Babadeda 最新NFT Discord黑客背后的加密者

    根据该报告,Morphisec实验室的研究人员根据加密器本身使用的俄语占位符选择了 “Babadeda “这个名字,它被翻译成祖母-祖父。它可以通过RAT有效载荷绕过基于签名的防病毒解决方案。因此,攻击者获得了对目标计算机的管理控制权。

    在所有的技术谈话中,这里的底线是,你需要保持警惕。要做到这一点,你需要了解这种骗局是如何运作的,以及哪些是红旗。从用户的角度来看,以下是攻击的流程。

    首先,攻击者在公司的官方 Discord 频道上创建一个 Discord 机器人账户。这将使他们能够冒充该频道的官方账户。

    然后,攻击者从这个账户向用户发送一条私人信息。基本上,他们会邀请用户下载一个相关的应用程序。作为回报,他们将允许他们访问新的功能和好处。

    然而,该URL不是一个应用程序,而是将用户重定向到一个诱饵网站。然后,它将下载一个恶意的安装程序,将加密器与RAT有效载荷嵌入其中。

    不幸的是,攻击者也在努力将他们的恶意意图隐藏在看起来合法的应用程序中,以逃避检测。事实上,他们甚至采取了扩展措施,以确保交付链在最技术性的用户看来是合法的。例如,用证书签署域名(通过LetsEncrypt)以启用HTTPS连接,并确保诱饵页面的用户界面与原始页面的用户界面非常相似。

    行业格局

    不幸的是,欺诈者不仅仅是针对个人用户。他们也在追求更大的实体。两周前,我们报道了OpenSea的安全在一个白帽黑客发现了一个致命的缺陷后受到了严格审查。这是一个重大的救命稻草,因为这个漏洞可能允许欺诈者创建虚假的蓝筹NFT(想想BAYC)。然后,创造一个 “狂热”,最终耗费数百万,甚至数亿的资金。

    有趣的是,一个17岁的年轻NFT黑客参与了围绕CreatureToadz项目的网络钓鱼骗局。与大多数欺诈案件不同,这起案件有一个圆满的结局。CreatureToadz的团队在为违规行为道歉后,从NFT黑客那里拿回了钱(86ETH/342,526美元)。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0