• South Korea’s financial authority now says NFTs can be taxed

  • South Korea’s Financial Services Commission (FSC) has said that some NFTs (non-counterfeitable tokens) will be taxed starting next year, reversing the finance minister’s position on the subject announced just last month. The scope of taxable NFTs has yet to be determined by the tax authorities.

    Doh Kyu-sang, vice chairman of the FSC, told the National Assembly yesterday that the South Korean government believes NFTs can be taxed through existing regulations covering virtual assets.Doh added that the Ministry of Economy and Finance is currently preparing for the taxation of NFTs.

    However, the FRA recognises that not all NFTs should be taxed or classified as virtual assets – the financial authority believes that NFTs issued on a large scale and intended for investment or payment need to be classified as virtual assets and taxed accordingly. At the National Assembly meeting, Goh mentioned that the full scope of taxable NFTs will be defined by the tax authorities in the future.

    The debate on taxing NFTs has been developing since last month, when South Korean Finance Minister Hong Nam-ki said that NFTs are not part of virtual assets and therefore would not be taxed in the coming year, although he has recognized that more discussion is needed.

    The amendment to South Korea’s tax law stipulates that income from virtual assets amounting to more than 2.5 million won (about $2,102) will be taxed at a rate of 20 percent from Jan. 1, 2022. The announcement sparked controversy, with investors arguing that the tax is unfair as cryptocurrency income over 2.5 million won is taxed, while the 20 percent tax rate on equity capital gains is set to begin on January 1, 2023 at 50 million won (about $42,048).

    Lawmakers from both the ruling Democratic Party and the conservative People Power Party have introduced bills to delay the taxation of cryptocurrency gains by a year or two. A tax subcommittee of the National Assembly’s Strategy and Finance Committee has begun discussing policies to reduce the tax burden on virtual assets.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 韩国金融主管部门现在表示,NFTs可以被征税

  • 韩国金融服务委员会(FSC)表示,从明年开始,一些NFTs(不可伪造的代币)将被征税,这推翻了财政部长上个月刚刚宣布的对该主题的立场。应税NFTs的范围尚未由税务机关确定。

    FSC的副主席Doh Kyu-sang昨天在国民议会上说,韩国政府认为NFTs可以通过涵盖虚拟资产的现有法规来征税。Doh补充说,经济和财政部目前正在准备对NFTs征税。

    然而,金融监管局认识到,并不是所有的NFT都应该被征税或被归类为虚拟资产–金融当局认为,大规模发行并打算用于投资或支付的NFT需要被归类为虚拟资产并相应地征税。在国民议会会议上,Goh提到,应税NFT的全部范围将在未来由税务机关界定。

    关于对NFTs征税的辩论自上个月以来一直在发展,当时韩国财政部长Hong Nam-ki表示,NFTs不是虚拟资产的一部分,因此在未来一年不会被征税,尽管他已经认识到需要更多的讨论。

    韩国的税法修正案规定,从2022年1月1日起,金额超过250万韩元(约2102美元)的虚拟资产收入将按20%的税率征税。该公告引发了争议,投资者认为征税不公平,因为加密货币收入超过250万韩元就要被征税,而股票资本收益的20%税率定于2023年1月1日在5000万韩元(约42,048美元)开始。

    执政的民主党和保守的人民力量党的立法者都提出法案,将加密货币收益的征税时间推迟一年或两年。国会战略和财政委员会下属的税务小组委员会已经开始讨论减轻虚拟资产税收负担的政策。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0