• Korea’s leading blockchain faces greater competition in NFT market

  • The non-fakeable token (NFT) space in South Korea is expanding rapidly throughout 2021, driven by the growth of cryptocurrency and NFT services offered by Kakao, but competitors are entering the fray.

    South Korea’s NFT market could be on a more expansive path after the government ruled on Nov. 5 that NFT purchases will not generate taxes.

    Klaytn, a blockchain developed by South Korean tech startups Kakao and GroundX, is apparently the go-to for South Koreans looking for a network to buy and sell NFTs.

    Klaytn’s market dominance in South Korea is unparalleled, as KakaoTalk, Kakao’s flagship product suite with over 52 million active users, integrates Klaytn’s Klip cryptocurrency wallet directly into its mobile app.

    Sangdi, CEO of Spoon, a platform for NFT creators based in South Korea, told us, “If KakaoTalk pushes them, ordinary people who have no exposure to cryptocurrencies will become familiar with them and [they will] accept NFT as a culture.”

    In addition, Klaytn is one of only three blockchains supported by the OpenSea NFT marketplace.Kakao’s own Krafterspace NFT minting service has posted over 37,000 NFTs for sale on OpenSea, of which nearly 7,000 have been purchased t

    Korean NFT creators realize that the platform on Klaytn is tailored for Korean collectors, its target market. sangdi added, “We are targeting the Korean market first and then the global market. I think for now Klaytn will help us focus on Korea.”

    As Korean NFT collectors become more accustomed to the global NFT trend, alternatives such as Polygon, the second tier of the Ethernet extension network, pose a potential threat to Klaytn’s dominance.

    Polygon is the second of three networks supported by OpenSea, making it a relatively familiar platform for Korean NFT collectors. It also supports a strong NFT marketplace, which some Korean projects see as a better fit for their global business models.

    Jisoon Lim, CEO of 3PM, a music-centric NFT curation and distribution platform, has deployed the platform on Polygon rather than Klaytn. Despite being located in Korea, Lim explained to us that Polygon was the best choice for the project.

    Korean NFT enthusiast Karl Hyun also feels Polygon is a better fit for the NFT market than Klaytn. Although his favorite collection is not based in Korea, he feels that an Ethereum-based second tier solution is the best and helps increase NFT’s global reach.

    In an interview, he said, “Polygon as a second layer would work best integrated with Ether, but isn’t Klaytn closer to a standalone sidechain?” He then added, “Since Polygon is based on Ether, the best way to increase the scalability of NFT while minimizing centralization is to go Polygon.”

    Kakao’s involvement in the blockchain space also extends to the venture capital space, where it has a long-standing relationship with Dunamu, the owner of the South Korean Upbit exchange.

    Dunamu is preparing to launch an NFT platform with HYBE, the entertainment company behind popular Kpop group BTS. kakao is also planning an NFT marketplace and meta-universe called Kakao Games.

    For now, Kakao’s foothold may be compromised by its slow global expansion efforts. However, Sangdi said that concerns about globalization are a temporary obstacle, adding that the company wants to become a global brand.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 韩国领先的区块链在NFT市场面临更大竞争

  • 在Kakao提供的加密货币和NFT服务增长的带动下,韩国的不可伪造代币(NFT)空间在整个2021年迅速扩大,但竞争对手正在进入这个战场。

    在11月5日政府裁定NFT购买不会产生税收之后,韩国的NFT市场可能会走上更加扩张的道路。

    韩国科技创业公司Kakao和GroundX开发的区块链Klaytn,显然是韩国人寻找NFT买卖网络的首选。

    Klaytn在韩国的市场主导地位是无与伦比的,因为KakaoTalk是Kakao的旗舰产品套件,拥有超过5200万活跃用户,并将Klaytn的Klip加密货币钱包直接整合到其移动应用程序中。

    来自位于韩国的NFT创造者平台Spoon的首席执行官Sangdi告诉我们,”如果KakaoTalk推动它们,没有接触过加密货币的普通人将熟悉它们,[他们将]接受NFT作为一种文化。”

    此外,Klaytn是OpenSea NFT市场支持的仅有的三个区块链之一。Kakao自己的Krafterspace NFT铸币服务已经在OpenSea上发布了超过37000个NFT出售,其中近7000个已经被购买t。

    韩国NFT创作者意识到,Klaytn上的平台是为韩国收藏家,即其目标市场量身定做的。Sangdi补充说,”我们的目标首先是韩国市场,然后是全球市场。我认为目前Klaytn将帮助我们专注于韩国”。

    随着韩国NFT收藏家越来越习惯于全球NFT趋势,以太坊第二层扩展网络Polygon等替代品对Klaytn的主导地位构成了潜在威胁。

    Polygon是OpenSea支持的三个网络中的第二个,使其成为韩国NFT收集者相对熟悉的平台。它还支持一个强大的NFT市场,一些韩国项目认为这更适合其全球商业模式。

    3PM是一个以音乐为中心的NFT策划和发布平台,其CEO Jisoon Lim在Polygon而不是Klaytn上部署了该平台。尽管位于韩国,Lim向我们解释说,Polygon是该项目的最佳选择。

    韩国NFT爱好者Karl Hyun也觉得Polygon比Klaytn更适合NFT市场。虽然他最喜欢的收藏品不在韩国,但他觉得基于Ethereum的第二层解决方案是最好的,有助于提高NFT的全球影响力。

    他在接受采访时说:”Polygon作为第二层的运作方式最好是与以太坊整合,但Klaytn不是更接近于一个独立的侧链吗?”然后他补充说:”由于Polygon是基于以太坊的,在增加NFT的可扩展性同时尽量减少中心化的最佳方式是去Polygon。”

    Kakao对区块链领域的参与也延伸到了风险投资领域,它与韩国Upbit交易所的所有者Dunamu有长期的合作关系。

    Dunamu正准备与流行的Kpop团体BTS背后的娱乐公司HYBE推出一个NFT平台。Kakao也在计划一个名为Kakao Games的NFT市场和元宇宙。

    目前,Kakao的立足点可能因其缓慢的全球扩张努力而受到影响。然而,Sangdi说,对全球化的担忧是一个暂时的障碍,并补充说该公司希望成为一个全球品牌。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0