• Musicians sell the rights to use NFTs to deeply fake their own sound

  • American musician and songwriter Holly Herndon appears to be using the principles of deepfake technology to allow fans to use digital versions of her songs to create original artwork, which they can then sell.

    According to an announcement Herndon tweeted on August 12, users who want to make their own deepfakes using the musician’s unique voice and image will have the opportunity to sell their creations using the non-fakeable token, or NFT, marketplace Zora.Herndon said fans can submit their digital copies, approved by the project’s DAO, and will receive any 50 percent of the auction profits.

    The project says it will initially release three “Genesis” Holly+ NFTs, along with submissions from the public, which will be cast using smart contracts and auctioned off at Zora next month. Users will receive half of any profits, with 40% going to the DAO and the remainder to Herndon himself. The base price for the two Genesis NFTs is 15 Ether (ETH) – about $48,150 at the time of publication.

    “Creating work with someone else’s voice is something to embrace,” Herndon said.” Anyone can submit artwork using my likeness.”

    Herndon’s digital twin – known as Holly+ – could have significant implications for artists looking to maintain control over their image and sound. While it seems unlikely that the musician’s first two NFTs could be mistaken for natural speaking or singing voices, deep forgery is often used to spread misinformation or otherwise manipulate the truth.

    In this case, a more authentic – and profitable – digital version of Herndon may emerge with the artist’s consent and encouragement, and as technology may improve in the future. Currently, the DAO provides checks for profiting from unapproved voice clips.

    “Vocal deep fakery is here to stay,” Herndon said for Holly+, released last month.” A balance needs to be found between protecting artists and encouraging people to try a new and exciting technology. That’s why we’re conducting this experiment in public voice ownership.”

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 音乐家出售使用NFTs深度伪造自己声音的权利

  • 美国音乐家和作曲家Holly Herndon似乎正在利用deepfake技术的原理,允许歌迷使用她的数字版本来创作原创艺术品,然后将其出售。

    根据Herndon 8月12日在推特上发布的公告,想要使用这位音乐家的独特声音和形象制作自己的深层伪造品的用户,将有机会使用不可伪造的代币(或称NFT)市场Zora出售他们的创作。Herndon说,粉丝们可以提交他们的数字拷贝,由项目的DAO批准,并将获得任何拍卖利润的50%。

    该项目表示,它最初将发布三个 “创世纪 “的Holly+ NFT,以及来自公众的提交材料,这些材料将在下个月使用智能合约铸造并在Zora拍卖。用户将获得任何利润的一半,40%给DAO,剩余的给Herndon本人。两个创世NFT的底价是15个以太币(ETH)–在发表时大约是48,150美元。

    “用他人的声音创作作品是一件值得拥护的事情,”Herndon说。”任何人都可以使用我的肖像提交艺术作品。”

    Herndon的数字双胞胎–称为Holly+–可能对希望保持对其形象和声音的控制的艺术家有重大影响。尽管这位音乐家的前两个NFT似乎不太可能被误认为是自然的说话或唱歌的声音,但深度伪造经常被用来传播错误信息或以其他方式操纵真相。

    在这种情况下,在艺术家的同意和鼓励下,以及随着技术在未来可能的改进,可能会出现更真实的–和有利可图的–Herndon的数字版本。目前,DAO为从未经批准的语音剪辑中获利提供了检查。

    “声乐深层造假在这里停留,”Herndon为上个月发布的Holly+说。”需要在保护艺术家和鼓励人们尝试一种新的和令人兴奋的技术之间找到一个平衡。这就是为什么我们正在进行这项公共语音所有权的实验”。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0