• How scammers are taking advantage of NFT mania

  • The cryptocurrency industry has been plagued by opportunistic scammers, from those who run Twitter giveaways to those who airdrop tokens as bait and steal all your tokens if you try to move them.

    Now, with NFTs selling like proverbial hotcakes (and numbers), scammers have changed their tactics to take advantage of this growing market – and their efforts seem to be working.

    There are two main ways they get access to a person’s wallet and any tokens held in it.

    Pretending to provide support services

    A key strategy is to pretend to provide support services from OpenSea, which represents the NFT market.

    This technique is effective because NFTs have many problems, from checking if a collection is official, to NFTs not showing up in wallets, or sometimes they show incorrect properties. These types of issues require help, so confused buyers turn to NFT issuers or the marketplaces they deal with for support.

    Often, NFT buyers seek help on the information platform Discord, which has grown into a hub of NFT activity and conversation.

    Here’s the problem: it’s easy for someone to set up an account called “OpenSea Support” or something similar and hang out in one of these chat groups. When someone mentions their problem, the fake support service will contact them with a direct message offering help.

    A fairly effective tactic involves the in-browser wallet MetaMask. scammers will invite users to share their screens and direct them to a section of the wallet that is designed to connect your wallet across different devices. By doing this, the scammers will set up the wallet on their own device and gain full access to the user’s funds.

    As this became a big issue, MetaMask has temporarily disabled this feature.

    This exact issue happened with Jeff Nicholas, who is the creative director of Authentic AI. In a tweet, he described how he went to OpenSea Discord for support and ended up being cajoled into DMing by a scammer who went by the name “OpenSea” He ended up showing the QR code that allowed the account to be transferred to another device before he started noticing his wallet being emptied.

    “They transferred everything. All the apes, dogs, cats, airdrops, all the ETH,” he tweeted.” They were also in my other account, so I went in and tried to salvage as much as I could and move it to another wallet before it was all gone. I get some NFT, some tokens.”

    While this part of the attack may no longer apply to MetaMask, the key thing to note is that the supposed support account in Discord may be fake – they will use any trick in the book to steal your funds.

    Exploiting the confusion of NFT mints

    The scammers are not only targeting NFTs in general, but also focusing on mints in particular – realizing that this is the perfect time to catch people off guard.

    When the NFT launches, there is an early announced public date and time. At this time, the site will offer a “mint” button where anyone can pay to create a mint of, say, 10,000 NFTs. if the mint is in high demand, it can sell out in minutes, if not seconds. This can make for an incredibly stressful moment, especially when the mint doesn’t go exactly as planned, which often happens. It can also lead to a lot of confusion – which is when scammers take advantage.

    Prior to minting, potential NFT buyers will be looking for mint locations and key details (best found in the FAQ). During this time, if there are any questions, they will be looking for answers and solutions. They will usually sit in the main general chat on the relevant Discord channel.

    One method is to pretend to offer minting services. The scammers will say that there is a problem with the mint and the only way to get NFT is to send cryptocurrency to the wallet address they provide.

    Another example is that the scammers will post fake links and hope that people won’t notice. One tactic is to post a link to a website claiming that is where the airdrop will take place. It will look similar to the official site, but it will likely trade out all the NFTs from their wallets.

    This particular tactic influenced Messari research analyst Chase Devans, who used a link that his friend at Discord saw and gave him. When he tried to mint an NFT on that site, it took $15,000 of solana (SOL) and all of his NFTs from his wallet.

    He tweeted “I’ve been scammed before. Dogshitcoin, May 19 chain reaction, you name it. But this time the damage is different. I’ve been perfecting my craft and building a solid SOL stack based on the fundamentals. All of that went away in an instant, poof.”

    Such a strategy worked very well with yesterday’s NFT mint from the Solana-based project Aurory. One wallet ended up with $1.5 million and 350 NFTs, some of which have since been frozen. The scammer ended up making even more money than the NFT issuer due to an error in the minting contract where the NFT was sold for 1 SOL instead of 5 SOL.

    A related aspect here is that the popular Solana wallet Phantom has an auto-approval feature that will approve any transaction from an approved site (designed to make it faster to mint coins). But this could allow sites to approve all sorts of other transactions, potentially putting your NFT at risk. Phantom says it is removing this feature.

    The main advice here is to check that you are using the official links, which can usually be found in the project’s FAQ channel – and not to use any of the links provided in the public channel. It’s also recommended to create a separate wallet for each mint so you don’t lose more than what’s in that wallet.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 骗子是如何利用NFT狂热的?

  • 加密货币行业一直受到机会主义骗子的困扰,从那些运行Twitter赠品的人到那些空投代币作为诱饵的人,如果你试图移动它们,它们会偷走你所有的代币。

    现在,随着NFTs像谚语(和数字)一样热销,骗子们已经改变了他们的策略,以利用这个不断增长的市场–而且他们的努力似乎正在发挥作用。

    他们主要通过两种方式来获取一个人的钱包和其中持有的任何代币。

    假装提供支持服务

    一个关键策略是假装代表NFT市场的OpenSea提供支持服务。

    这种技术是有效的,因为NFT有很多问题,从检查一个集合是否是官方的,NFT不显示在钱包里,或者有时它们会显示不正确的属性。这些类型的问题需要帮助,因此,困惑的买家会向NFT发行商或与他们交易的市场寻求支持。

    通常情况下,NFT买家会在信息平台Discord上寻求帮助,该平台已经发展成为NFT活动和对话的中心。

    问题是:有人建立了一个名为 “OpenSea Support “或类似的账户,并在这些聊天组中闲逛,这是很容易的。当有人提到他们的问题时,假的支持服务会通过直接的信息与他们联系,提供帮助。

    一个相当有效的战术涉及到浏览器内的钱包MetaMask。骗子会邀请用户分享他们的屏幕,并将他们引向钱包的某个部分,该部分旨在跨不同设备连接你的钱包。通过这样做,骗子会在自己的设备上设置钱包,完全获得用户的资金。

    由于这成为一个大问题,MetaMask已经暂时禁用了这个功能。

    这个确切的问题发生在Jeff Nicholas身上,他是Authentic AI的创意总监。在一条推文中,他描述了他如何去OpenSea Discord寻求支持,最后被一个以 “OpenSea “为名的骗子哄骗到了DM。他最后展示了让账户转移到另一个设备的二维码,然后他开始注意到他的钱包被清空了。

    “他们转移了所有东西。所有的人猿,狗,猫,空投,所有的ETH,”他在推特上说。”他们也在我的另一个账户里,所以我进入并试图尽可能多地抢救,在全部消失之前将其转移到另一个钱包里。我得到一些NFT,一些代币。”

    虽然这部分攻击可能不再适用于MetaMask,但需要注意的关键是,Discord中所谓的支持账户可能是假的–他们会使用书中的任何技巧来窃取你的资金。

    利用NFT薄荷糖的混乱

    骗子不仅针对一般的NFT,而且还特别关注薄荷糖–意识到这是一个让人猝不及防的最佳时机。

    当NFT推出时,有一个提前宣布的公开日期和时间。在这个时候,网站会提供一个 “铸币 “按钮,任何人都可以付费创建一个例如1万个NFTs。如果铸币厂的需求量很大,它可以在几分钟,甚至几秒钟内售罄。这可能会使这一时刻变得令人难以置信的紧张,特别是当造币厂没有完全按计划进行时,这种情况经常发生。这也可能导致很多混乱–这就是骗子利用的时候。

    在造币之前,潜在的NFT买家将寻找造币地点和关键细节(最好在常见问题中找到)。在这期间,如果有任何问题,他们将寻找答案和解决方案。他们通常会坐在相关 Discord 频道的主要普通聊天中。

    一种方法是假装提供铸币服务。骗子会说,铸币厂出了问题,获得NFT的唯一方法是向他们提供的钱包地址发送加密货币。

    另一个例子是,骗子会发布假链接,希望人们不会注意到。一种策略是发布一个网站链接,声称那是将进行空投的地方。它看起来会与官方网站相似,但它很可能会从他们的钱包里交易出所有的NFT。

    这种特殊的策略影响了Messari研究分析师Chase Devans,他使用了一个他的朋友在Discord看到并给他的链接。当他试图在该网站上铸造一个NFT时,它从他的钱包里拿走了15000美元的solana(SOL)和他所有的NFT。

    他在推特上说 “我以前也被骗过。狗屎币,5月19日的连锁反应,你的名字。但这次的伤害是不同的。我一直在完善我的工艺,并在基本面的基础上建立了一个坚实的SOL栈。所有这些都在瞬间消失了,噗”。

    这样的策略在昨天位于索拉纳的项目Aurory的NFT铸币中非常有效。一个钱包最终获得了150万美元和350个NFT,其中一些后来被冻结。由于铸币合同中存在一个错误,NFT的售价是1 SOL而不是5 SOL,这名骗子最后赚的钱甚至比NFT发行者还要多。

    这里的一个相关方面是,流行的Solana钱包Phantom有一个自动批准功能,将批准来自批准的网站的任何交易(旨在使其更快地造币)。但这可能允许网站批准各种其他交易,有可能使你的NFT面临风险。魅族说它正在删除这个功能。

    这里的主要建议是检查你是否使用了官方链接,这些链接通常可以在项目的FAQ频道中找到–而不要使用任何在公开频道中提供的链接。此外,建议建立一个单独的钱包,用于每个薄荷糖,这样你的损失就不会超过该钱包中的内容。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0