• Hackers are now trying to steal cryptocurrencies through malicious NFTs

  • Non-fungible tokens, NFTs, are digital assets that link ownership to real-world objects or items (such as artwork, music, videos, etc.).

    While they function in the same way as cryptocurrencies, they are not fiat money.NFTs are highly speculative and can often sell for millions of dollars. However, not every investor should desire them.

    From popular memes to pixelated comics, the popularity of non-fakeable tokens has been soaring lately. Unfortunately, this move is not without its exploitative attacks.

    A report from Check Point Research (CPR) reveals the hacking of user accounts in the OpenSea NFT marketplace. A number of errors in the protocol’s NFTs led to the theft of all users’ cryptocurrency wallets and the transfer of malicious NFTs.

    The investigation will be launched after the report. It will cover free airdrops of malicious NFTs that act as an outlet for account hacking and cryptocurrency theft.

    Hackers target NFTs for nefarious activities

    The source of the problem is not just NFT and airdrops. However, by releasing the NFT to the victim, they will see it. Then there will be a follow up message asking for a signature connecting to the wallet.

    In addition, a prompted secondary signature request will appear. If the user accepts, the hacker will gain access to the unsuspecting user’s wallet and funds.

    In the case of OpenSea, the security bug entitles the protocol team to upload an SVG file containing a malicious payload. This upload would operate from Opensea’s storage subdomain.

    Commenting on the situation, CPR said that after clicking on a third-party image, the user was asked to sign it using their wallet. It mentioned that such a requirement is a far cry from the regular practice of OpenSea. This is because it is quite different from the services offered by OpenSea, such as buying or collecting an item and offering deals.

    Nevertheless, most users may be tempted to approve the connection. The reason for this is that the transaction operation domain comes from OpenSea, which may be available in other NFT operations.

    On September 26, the CPR team revealed all of its findings to OpenSea. This ensured that the marketplace acted quickly within an hour to prioritize and validate the security flaws and propose a solution.

    Finally, OpenSea issued a public statement expressing its gratitude to the CPR team for bringing the vulnerability to their attention. It also acknowledged the teams for joining their efforts within an hour during the investigation and implementation of a solution.

    OpenSea mentioned that these attacks rely on user approval of malicious activity through third-party wallet providers. Therefore, it is possible for users to link their wallets and authorize malicious transactions.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• 黑客现在正试图通过恶意的NFTs窃取加密货币

  • 不可伪造的代币,NFTs,是将所有权与现实世界的物品或物体(如艺术品、音乐、视频等)联系起来的数字资产。

    虽然它们的功能与加密货币相同,但它们并不是货币。NFTs具有很强的投机性,通常能卖到数百万美元。然而,不是每个投资者都应该渴望它们。

    从流行的备忘录到像素漫画,最近,不可伪造的代币的人气一直在飙升。不幸的是,此举并非没有被利用的攻击。

    Check Point Research(CPR)的报告揭示了OpenSea NFT市场中用户账户被黑的情况。该协议的NFT中的一些错误导致所有用户的加密货币钱包被盗,并转移了恶意的NFT。

    报道后,将启动调查。它将涵盖免费空投的恶意NFT,作为账户黑客和加密货币盗窃的出口。

    黑客以NFT为目标,开展邪恶的活动

    问题的来源不仅仅是NFT和空投。然而,通过向受害者释放NFT,他们会看到它。然后,会有一个后续信息,要求提供连接到钱包的签名。

    此外,还会出现一个提示性的二次签名请求。如果用户接受了,黑客就会进入毫无戒心的用户的钱包和资金。

    对于OpenSea的情况,安全错误使协议团队有权上传一个包含恶意有效载荷的SVG文件。这个上传将从Opensea的存储子域操作。

    CPR在评论这一情况时说,在点击第三方的图片后,用户被要求使用他们的钱包签名。它提到,这样的要求与OpenSea的常规做法相去甚远。这是因为它与OpenSea提供的服务相当不同,比如购买或收藏某项物品和提供优惠。

    尽管如此,大多数用户可能会被引诱去批准这个连接。原因是交易操作域来自OpenSea,它可能是其他NFT操作中可获得的。

    9月26日,CPR团队向OpenSea透露了其所有发现。这确保了市场在一小时内迅速采取行动,优先处理和验证安全缺陷,并提出解决方案。

    最后,OpenSea发表了一份公开声明,对CPR团队提请他们注意这个漏洞表示感谢。同时,它也承认在调查和实施解决方案期间,各团队在一小时内加入他们的努力。

    OpenSea提到,这些攻击依赖于用户通过第三方钱包提供商对恶意活动的批准。因此,用户有可能链接他们的钱包并授权恶意交易。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0