• The future of NFTs: crypto art or collector’s item?

  • While the early 2021 hype is all about crypto art – seen as a manifestation of digital art now based on distributed databases – in the meantime, the real insider market appreciates and trades NFT more than collectibles.

    August 2021 was a big month for the Non Fungible Tokens revival, and it broke every record for the much-discussed and memorable March 2021, with sales of crypto art touching $400 million and sales of collectibles touching $600 million.

    A simple reading of the data suggests that the collectibles market is far larger than the art market, and this is further confirmed by the secondary market.

    Low carbon art: million dollar sales at Christie’s and Beeple’s NFT

    Thanks to Christie’s “baptism” of Beeple’s million-dollar auction, crypto art is getting more coverage in the media – both industry and major publications – because it’s more glamorous, more easily understood as an intangible art asset, and has found some affinity with the physical world.

    Collectibles – digital collectibles – are something different, based on scarcity, rarity, gamification and often artificial intelligence algorithms that create unique and special random collectibles by combining different components that excite collectors, but are hard to understand for most people who see Larva Labs’ now famous Crypto Punks selling for millions of dollars without really understanding why.

    On the other hand, the more structured art world has counted on the presence of collectors – in some cases real investors – who are already familiar with these market themes and have partially “dipped their toes” into the NFT market anyway, albeit with appropriate caution, in the midst of accumulating, rising, and sometimes speculative moves – art hype.

    In the new book, “The Art of Crypto. Everything You Need to Know About NFTs, Blockchain, and Digital Art ” describes what is happening in the art world and its markets, highlighting how much more there is to do, the constant evolution and the ensuing opportunities in the industry, and how the real rules are yet to be defined in the balance between the old and the new.

    Collectible items and market access possibilities

    For collectibles there is no such thing as old, only new. A marketplace that winks at game cards can be collected and owned, and in most cases, each of us has the opportunity to collect the first edition on equal terms before discovering that what was purchased is in the form of a unique and valuable specimen.

    Once items are announced within the cryptocurrency community or on social networks such as Discord and Twitter, there is the opportunity to purchase collectibles from the source and then mint NFTs at prices ranging from 0.03 ETH to over 2 ETH on average, depending on the method and timing of each collectible, often those who purchase do not yet know what features their NFTs will have.

    A very fast and volatile market that goes through different phases in a matter of days or even hours where some people are even just selling pre-orders. This was the case with Punks Comics’ MintPass for MetaHero, sold to the owner of another NFT from the producer for 0.08 ETH, and then given the rights to one of the 10,000 NFTs about to be put on the market on OpenSea’s secondary market first for 2 ETH and today for 5 ETH, and announced a “floor price” that promises to be stellar.

    Christie’s was the first auction house to perceive the power and scope of the collectibles market, first selling Crypto Punk, created by Larva Labs, for over $11 million each, and today $250,000 is not enough to get one of the 10,000 most common minted coins, as investment funds and credit card merchants like VISA rush to stockpile them.

    Crypto Punk, a must-have of our time

    Artwork or not, auctions outside of cryptocurrency continue, with Christie’s Hong Kong announcing a second collector’s sale on September 17, this time featuring the infamous cryptocurrency punk, paired with Yuga Labs’ Bored Ape Yacht Club (BAYC), the most expensive boredom monkey on the web – so far, 25 ETH for the most common monkey too little – will be the next must-have at the end of this incredible year.

    As a layman, it’s hard to understand the dynamic – or the fascination – however, the numbers speak for themselves, and most importantly the growing number of collectors today who buy, sell, and swap collectibles, some out of natural passion and others out of pure speculation.

    Increasingly, cryptocurrency art is also turning its attention to collectibles, drawing from the dynamics of rarity, scarcity, and sales, such as Art Blocks, whose generated art has far outpaced other more well-known platforms like SuperRare and Nifty Gateway in the past two months, with over $300 million in sales in August alone; or Damien Hirst, whose 10,000 NFTs of The Currency sold for $2,000 and are now the rarest on the secondary market at over $50,000.

    Whether it’s collectibles or crypto art, it’s safe to assume that both markets draw inspiration from the other, in some cases as a mutual media force, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing even if the risk of potential future cannibalization becomes concrete day after day.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• NFTs的未来:加密艺术还是收藏品?

  • 虽然2021年初的炒作都是关于加密艺术–被视为现在基于分布式数据库的数字艺术的表现–但与此同时,真正的内幕市场更欣赏和交易NFT而不是收藏品。

    2021年8月是Non Fungible Tokens复兴的一个大月份,它打破了2021年3月备受讨论和令人难忘的每一个记录,加密艺术的销售额触及4亿美元,收藏品的销售额触及6亿美元。

    对数据的简单解读表明,收藏品市场远远大于艺术品市场,这一点在二级市场上得到了进一步证实。

    低碳艺术:佳士得和Beeple’s NFT的百万美元销售

    由于佳士得对Beeple的百万美元拍卖的 “洗礼”,加密艺术在媒体上得到了更多的报道–无论是行业还是主要出版物–因为它更有魅力,更容易被理解为一种无形的艺术资产,并与物理世界找到了一些亲和力。

    收藏品–数字收藏品–是一种不同的东西,基于稀缺性、稀有性、游戏化和通常的人工智能算法,通过组合不同的组件,创造出独特和特殊的随机收藏品,让收藏家兴奋不已,但对于大多数人来说,他们很难理解,他们看到Larva实验室现在著名的Crypto Punks卖到了数百万美元,却没有真正理解原因。

    另一方面,更有条理的艺术世界已经指望着收藏家的存在–在某些情况下是真正的投资者–他们已经熟悉这些市场主题,并且在积累、上涨、有时是投机性的举动–艺术炒作–中,无论如何已经部分 “涉足 “NFT市场,尽管要适当小心。

    在新书《加密艺术。你需要知道的关于NFTs、区块链和数字艺术的一切 》中,描述了艺术世界及其市场所发生的一切,强调了还有很多事情要做,不断的演变和随之而来的行业机会,在新旧之间的平衡中,真正的规则还未被定义。

    收藏品项目和市场准入的可能性

    对于收藏品来说,没有旧的,只有新的。一个向游戏卡眨眼的市场,可以收集和拥有,在大多数情况下,我们每个人都有机会在平等的条件下收集第一个版本,然后才发现所购买的东西是一个独特和宝贵的标本的形式。

    一旦项目在加密货币社区内或在Discord和Twitter等社交网络上公布,就有机会从源头上购买收藏品,然后以平均从0.03ETH到超过2ETH的价格铸造NFT,根据每个收藏品的不同方法和时间,往往那些购买者还不知道他们的NFT会有什么特征。

    一个非常快速和波动的市场,在几天甚至几小时内就会经历不同的阶段,在这里,有的人甚至只是卖出预购的东西。这就是Punks Comics的MintPass for MetaHero的情况,以0.08ETH的价格卖给了生产商的另一个NFT的所有者,然后在OpenSea的二级市场上先是以2ETH的价格,今天以5ETH的价格,给予即将投入市场的10000个NFT之一的权利,并宣布了一个有望成为明星的 “地板价”。

    佳士得是第一个察觉到收藏品市场的力量和范围的拍卖行,首次拍卖由Larva实验室创造的Crypto Punk,每枚售价超过1100万美元,而今天要想获得1万枚最普通的铸币中的一枚,25万美元是不够的,因为投资基金和VISA等信用卡商家急于囤积它们。

    Crypto Punk,我们这个时代的必备品

    不管是不是艺术品,加密货币以外的拍卖仍在继续,香港佳士得宣布在9月17日举行第二次收藏品拍卖会,这次的主角是臭名昭着的加密货币朋克,与Yuga Labs的无聊猿人游艇俱乐部(BAYC)配对,这是网络上最昂贵的无聊猴子–迄今为止,25ETH对于最普通的猴子来说太少了–在这个不可思议的一年结束时将成为下一个必须的东西。

    作为一个门外汉,很难理解这种动态–或者说这种魅力–然而,数字是不言而喻的,最重要的是今天不断增加的收藏家,他们购买、出售、交换收藏品,有些是出于天生的激情,有些则是纯粹的投机。

    越来越多的加密货币艺术也将注意力转向收藏品,从稀有性、稀缺性和销售的动态中汲取灵感,例如Art Blocks,其生成艺术在过去两个月中远远超过了其他更知名的平台,如SuperRare和Nifty Gateway,仅在8月份就有超过3亿美元的销售额;又如Damien Hirst,其10000个The Currency的NFTs以2000美元售出,现在是二级市场上最稀有的,超过5万美元。

    无论是收藏品还是加密艺术,可以肯定的是,这两个市场从对方那里获得了灵感,在某些情况下,作为一种相互的媒体力量,即使日复一日,未来潜在的吞噬风险变得具体,这也不一定是一件坏事。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0