• NFTs: more than just a JPEG file

  • You may have noticed that NFT has exploded this year and prices have gone through the roof. The most expensive piece sold for $69.3 million. 8-bit artworks regularly change hands for life-changing ETH amounts. At Christie’s and Sotheby’s auctions, big names from Banksy to, most recently, Jimmy Kimmel have joined the ranks.

    However, with all of this going on, there are a lot of people scratching their heads about what NFT really is, with some concluding that there are a lot of cryptocurrency rich weirdos who have suddenly gone crazy and started dropping millions of dollars on JPEGs.

    That’s only partly true: they’re actually throwing millions of dollars at digital tokens linked to JPEGs, and they’re not just cryptocurrency rich, they’re now rich in real life.

    But that’s not the whole picture, either. Because while most of the NFTs you read about do connect you to a hosted JPEG where you have proof of ownership – admittedly, that sounds a bit strange – NFTs are much more than that, because a whole new online/offline integrated reality may be about to open up (call it a meta-universe, if you will), and NFTs are an integral part of it.

    But before we tackle any dazzling new frontiers, let’s take a look at JPEGs. For the sake of accuracy, it should be noted that while many NFTs are tokens that prove ownership of works stored off-chain, most likely on IPFS, this is not always the case, and some NFTs have their content stored on-chain, that is, actually encoded on the blockchain itself.

    But anyway, to the point, the world of art and design, and the world of programming and computer science, is and has been a bit off the beaten track, doing things that don’t immediately resonate with the indifferent masses, but then become hugely popular. If you really stop and think about it, those JPEG images start to make sense.

    After all, art is collectible, some is expensive, and some works are so reliably sought after that they can be used as a store of value. But that desirability and value relies on authenticity and scarcity; your item must be the real thing, and its supply must be limited, often to one.

    But in this case, the digital artist gets a raw deal, because anything digital can be copied endlessly and with virtually zero effort or cost, with no difference from the original. To make matters worse, the digital realm is expanding, and more and more creative work is being expressed primarily digitally and online, where it can be copied freely.

    So, too bad for digital artists? Yes, maybe. Or at least it was until NFT came along.

    NFT accurately identifies that there is a verified original work – a Genesis project – and that any copy is, well, a copy. Essentially, what NFT creates is scarcity in the online digital art medium, which didn’t readily exist before then.

    With digital art and NFT, there can be an endless supply of perfect copies, but there can be zero credible fakes.

    Basically, you can’t make saleable torrents because you can’t beat the blockchain, which stores provenance for eternity. Saying you can right-click and save NFT makes as much sense as me saying I can right-click and save your bitcoins, in terms of the value and plausibility of our knockoffs.

    NFT is a symbol of your receipt and ownership, and by being those things, it is a creator of value.

    But anyway, none of this matters if you’re not a curator and happen to be a diamond-handed investor or trader flipping NFTs for quick gains. In this case, what matters to you is that you can buy these blockchain-based receipts and that there is a bubbly, volatile market making good deals on blockchain-based receipts. And of course, you have the ability to read the dynamics of this market and know when to enter and exit.

    Then, you might want to take into account the macro view about where the world is going. You can’t avoid the discussion about the metaverse right now, and plenty of people who own cryptocurrencies are spending a lot of time online and using their digital assets.

    What’s more, the generations that are growing up now see digital trade, transactions and ownership as completely natural and have little affection for traditional financial institutions and funding means in which they have little stake and no say in the rules.

    In contrast, in the world of NFTs, DeFi and cryptocurrencies in general, these people can play a role in setting the rules if they choose to participate, as few rules currently exist.

    Remember, JPEGs and digital art are just the opening salvo. nfts bring secure digital ownership at a time when the world at large is moving towards new ways of trading and blurring the lines between digital and physical wealth, whether you like it or not.

    That’s not to say there aren’t bubbles, bull and bear markets, or that some, perhaps most, of the boom we’re currently seeing won’t disappear in one serious correction.

    But consider that many of the key players driving what’s happening now were doing it for fun when there was no hype at all, understand technology better than anyone else, and have built ambitious communities that are richer now than they were a few months ago. The carousel will slow down at some point, but zoom out and it’s in motion for the long haul.

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0

• NFTs:不仅仅是一个JPEG文件

  • 你可能已经注意到,今年的NFT已经爆炸了,价格也涨到了屋顶。最昂贵的作品以6930万美元成交。8位艺术作品经常以改变生活的ETH金额转手。在佳士得和苏富比的拍卖会上,从班克斯到最近的吉米-金梅尔等大人物都加入了拍卖行列。

    然而,随着这一切的发生,有很多人对NFT到底是什么感到头疼,有些人得出结论说,有很多加密货币富翁的怪人突然疯了,开始在JPEG上扔下数百万美元。

    这只是部分事实:他们实际上是在为链接到JPEG的数字代币投掷数百万美元,他们不仅是加密货币富人,他们现在也是现实生活中的富人。

    但这也不是全部情况。因为虽然你读到的大多数NFTs确实将你连接到一个托管的JPEG上,你有所有权证明–承认,这听起来有点奇怪–但NFTs远不止这些,因为一个全新的在线/离线整合现实可能即将开放(如果你愿意,可以称之为元宇宙),NFTs是一个不可或缺的组成部分。

    不过,在我们处理任何令人眼花缭乱的新领域之前,让我们先来了解一下JPEG的情况。为了准确起见,应该指出,虽然许多NFTs是证明存储在链外的作品的所有权的代币,很可能是在IPFS上,但情况并非总是如此,有些NFTs的内容存储在链上,也就是说,实际上编码在区块链本身上。

    但无论如何,说到重点,艺术和设计的世界,还有编程和计算机科学的世界,现在和以前都有点离经叛道,做的事情不会立即引起无动于衷的大众的共鸣,但后来却大受欢迎。如果你真的停下来想一想,那些JPEG图片开始有意义了。

    毕竟,艺术是可以收藏的,有些是昂贵的,有些作品是如此可靠地受到追捧,以至于它们可以被用作价值储存。但是,这种可取性和价值依赖于真实性和稀缺性;你的物品必须是真实的东西,其供应必须是有限的,往往只有一个。

    但在这种情况下,数字艺术家得到了一个原始的交易,因为任何数字的东西都可以被无休止地复制,而且实际上是零努力或零费用,与原作没有任何区别。更糟糕的是,数字领域正在不断扩大,越来越多的创造性工作主要是通过数字和网络来表达,在那里可以自由复制。

    那么,对于数字艺术家来说,太糟糕了吗?是的,也许。或者至少在NFT出现之前是这样。

    NFT准确无误地识别出有一件经过验证的原创作品–创世项目–而任何副本都是,嗯,副本。从本质上讲,NFT所创造的是在线数字艺术媒介中的稀缺性,而在此之前,稀缺性并不容易存在。

    有了数字艺术和NFT,可以有无穷无尽的完美拷贝,但可以有零的可信假货。

    基本上,你无法制造可销售的山寨品,因为你无法击败区块链,它可以永恒地存储出处。说你可以右键点击并保存NFT,就像我说我可以右键点击并保存你的比特币一样有意义,就我们的仿制品的价值和合理性而言。

    NFT是你的收据和所有权的象征,通过成为这些东西,它是一个价值的创造者。

    但无论如何,如果你不是一个策展人,而恰好是一个钻石手投资者或交易员,为了快速收益而翻转NFT,那么这些都不重要。在这种情况下,对你来说,重要的是你能买到这些基于区块链的收据,而且有一个充满泡沫、动荡的市场在做基于区块链的收据的良好交易。当然,你也有能力读懂这个市场的动态,知道何时进入和退出。

    然后,你可能要考虑到关于世界走向的宏观观点。你现在无法回避关于元宇宙的讨论,大量拥有加密货币的人正在花大量时间上网,使用他们的数字资产。

    更重要的是,现在成长起来的几代人认为数字贸易、交易和所有权是完全自然的,对传统的金融机构和资金手段没有什么好感,他们在其中没有什么利益,对规则没有发言权。

    相比之下,在NFTs、DeFi和一般的加密货币世界中,这些人如果选择参与,可以在制定规则方面发挥作用,因为目前存在的规则很少。

    请记住,JPEGs和数字艺术仅仅是开场白。NFTs带来了安全的数字所有权,而此时整个世界正朝着新的交易方式和数字与实物财富之间的界限模糊化的方向发展,不管你喜欢与否。

    这并不是说没有泡沫,没有牛市和熊市,也不是说我们目前看到的一些,也许是大部分的繁荣不会在一次严重的修正中消失。

    但是,考虑到许多推动现在所发生的事情的关键人物,在根本没有炒作的时候,他们是为了好玩而做的,比任何人都更了解技术,并建立了雄心勃勃的社区,现在比几个月前更富有。旋转木马在某些时候会慢下来,但放大来看,它是在长期的运动中。

    What's your reaction?
    Happy0
    Lol0
    Wow0
    Wtf0
    Sad0
    Angry0
    Rip0